Diction and Pronunciation
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA)
- IPA Chart (2005)The official International Phonetic Alphabet chart, from the International Phonetic Association, 2005 edition.
- IPA SourceIPA Source is a fee-based service that provides singers with literal translations and IPA transcriptions of songs and arias in Latin, Italian, German, French, Spanish, and English. Users may view a preview sample for free, or pay to download an individual song or aria. Individuals may also subscribe to the service. Ball State University does not have an institutional subscription at this time.
IPA Converter: EasyPronunciation.com provides IPA (as spoken, not necessarily as sung!) for Chinese, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.
Recommended Books
In the print Music Collection, books on diction are classified as MT 883. Find several recommended volumes below, and browse the stacks or search online for even more resources. Recommended books are sorted by their call numbers to ease browsing. Hover over the info icon to see a description of the book.
The Use of the International Phonetic Alphabet in the Choral Rehearsal by
Volume includes several chapters by Ball State professors, including Andrew Crow and Mei Zhong. "The fusion of text with music is one of the most powerful methods by which a composer can express emotion to an audience, yet, all too often, the diction of choral groups is lacking to such a degree as to make the text unintelligible." So argues Duane R. Karna, who in The Use of the International Phonetic Alphabet in the Choral Rehearsal brings together 30 essays by experts from around the world to describe how the character symbols of the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) can be used by singers in the choral rehearsal. In an effort to conquer one of the greatest challenges facing choral directors and their choirs, contributors explore the use of the IPA system in a vast range of languages. Readers will find essays devoted to the use of IPA on matters of lyric diction for the following tongues: Baltic Languages, Basque, Brazilian Portuguese, Chinese, Dutch, Ecclesiastical Latin, English, Finnish, French, Georgian, German, Germanic Latin, Greek, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Swahili, and Swedish. Holding firmly to the belief that basic instruction in IPA character is part of a choir's training, Karna and his contributors see enormous potential for choirs to expand considerably their foreign-language repertoire and save considerable rehearsal time. The Use of the International Phonetic Alphabet in the Choral Rehearsal is the ideal primer for choral directors and choirmasters as well as choir members.
Call Number: MT875 .U74 2012Publication Date: 2012
A Handbook of Diction for Singers: Italian, German, French by
Now in its second edition, A Handbook of Diction for Singers is a complete guide to achieving professional levels of diction in Italian, German, and French, the three major languages of the classical vocal repertory. Written for English-speaking singers and offering thorough, consistent explanations, it is an ideal tool for students and an invaluable reference for voice teachers, vocal coaches, and conductors. The book combines traditional approaches proven successful in the teaching of diction with important new material not readily available elsewhere, presenting the sounds of each language in logical order, along with essential information on matters such as diacritical marks, syllabification, word stress, and effective use of the variety of foreign-language dictionaries. Presented in an attractively concise format, the book goes into greater detail than comparable texts, providing specific information to clarify concepts typically difficult for English-speaking singers. Particular emphasis is placed on the characteristics of vowel length, the sequencing of sounds between words, as well as the differences between spoken and sung sounds in all three languages. Featuring significantly expanded coverage of each of the three languages and illustrated with numerous examples, this second edition of A Handbook of Diction for Singers is an exceptional text for courses in diction and a valuable reference source for all vocalists.
Call Number: MT883 .A23 2008Publication Date: 2008
Singing in Czech: A Guide to Czech Lyric Diction and Vocal Repertoire by
Timothy Cheek’s revised edition of Singing in Czech: A Guide to Czech Lyric Diction and Vocal Repertoire, with its accompanying audio accessible online, builds on the original pioneering work of 2001 that set “a new and very welcome high standard for teaching lyric diction,” according to Notes: The Journal of the Music Library Association. It offers users updated information, important clarifications, and expanded repertoire in a more accessible, easier to use format. Singing in Czech is divided into two parts. Using IPA, the first part takes the reader systematically through each sound of the Czech language, enhanced by recordings of native Czech opera singers. Chapters cover the Czech vowels, consonants, rules of assimilation, approaches to singing double consonants, stress and length, Moravian dialect, and an introduction to singing in Slovak. Fine points of formal pronunciation have been clarified in this revised edition. In the second part, Cheek offers a thorough overview of Czech art song, expanded from the first edition. Texts to major song literature and opera excerpts by Smetana, Dvořák, Janáček, Martinů, and Haas, with timings, editions, word-for-word translations, idiomatic translations, and IPA transcriptions follow. In this revision, Cheek has included additional cycles by Dvořák and Martinů, and two new chapters on Czech female composers Vítězslava Kaprálová and Sylvie Bodorová. This revised edition of Singing in Czech is useful for all those who are interested and engaged in the performance of the rich Czech vocal repertoire.
Call Number: MT883 .C44 2015Publication Date: 2015
English and German Diction for Singers: A Comparative Approach by
Lyric diction is a portal to powerful and meaningful vocal performance because diction enables singers to communicate the vision of both the poet and the composer. The study of diction involves learning to perceive speech patterns in different languages, practicing their precise articulation, recognizing this in speech and singing, and developing an awareness of the refined movements of the articulators and their effects on singing tone. In the second edition of English and German Diction for Singers, Amanda Johnston continues her comparative, modernized approach to lyric diction. This comprehensive resource offers a thorough analysis of the German and English languages and includes extensive oral drills, word lists, tables, charts, musical examples, and even tongue twisters. Unique to this publication is the illustration of the rhythmic timing and release of consonants within the International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions in all musical examples. This book is designed for both undergraduate and graduate courses in German and English lyric diction and is an invaluable resource for classical singers, vocal coaches, and voice teachers alike. Improvements to the second edition include: -An online workbook that includes extensive written exercises suitable for classroom or independent use -Chapter-by-chapter video clips that demonstrate the concepts addressed in the text -Expanded chapters address the schwa, the treatment of monosyllabic incidental words, the use of R, and the correct formation of the elusive upsilon and extended epsilon -Consideration of loan words and stressed vs. unstressed closed German vowels -Integrated practice drills for mastering challenging and unfamiliar phonemes -Enlarged musical examples show the rhythmic timing and release of voiced and voiceless consonants -An expanded appendix on suggested repertoire for diction study -Inclusion of specific diction choices suitable for musical theatre repertoire -Expanded discussion of healthy glottal onsets, including the concept of juncture -Use of the latest resources, namely Deutsche Rechtschreibung (2014) and Cambridge Pronouncing Dictionary, 18th edition (2011)
Call Number: MT883 .J64 2016Publication Date: 2016
Singing and Communicating in English: A Singer's Guide to English Diction by
From the Foreword by Renee Fleming: "Kathryn LaBouff has developed an approach to singing in the English language which is wonderfully user-friendly, and which has surely saved much wear and tear on my voice. It is a technique that has empowered me with the knowledge and skills to bring a text to life and to be able to negotiate all of the sounds of the language with the least amount of effort. I have found her clever and extremely creative use of substitute consonants or combinations of consonants in creating clear diction utterly delightful because they are surprising and because they work. These techniques have been equally useful when singing in foreign languages. We sopranos are not usually known to have good diction, particularly in our high range. I found that working with Kathryn improved my ability to be understood by an enormous percentile of the audience with much less vocal fatigue than I would have experienced if left to my own devices. I have often told my colleagues enthusiastically of her interesting solutions to the frustrating problems of diction. I am thrilled that her techniques are now in print for all to benefit from them." In Singing and Communicating in English,/I internationally renowned diction coach Kathryn LaBouff provides singers with an accessible guide to the principles of English diction they need to communicate the text successfully. Her thorough and much sought-after technique clarifies the physiology of speech, emphasizes the studied practice of careful and articulate pronunciation, and focuses on the study of English cadence. Covering aspects of phonetics from vowels to diphthongs to fricatives, the book includes multiple practical exercises in International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions, helpful diagrams, and pronunciation drills, each chosen from the most essential English art song and operatic repertoire. In addition to standard American and British English, a variety of regional dialects and accents are covered in depth. A companion website features a full range of vowel/consonant drills, poems read aloud by the author and veteran theater and voiceover actor John Keating, as well as an instructor's answer key, and publishers' lists to help the singer locate a vast array of English language works for performance. This book is an invaluable resource for all vocalists (both professional and aspiring), diction instructors, teachers, and coaches, and choral directors.
Call Number: MT883 .L13 2008 and EBSCOhost EbooksPublication Date: 2007
Diction = /dık s̳än/ : Italian, Latin, French, German: The Sounds and 81 Exercises for Singing Them by
A comprehensive guide to the diction of Italian, Ecclesiastical Latin, French and German with practical exercises in a comparative approach for American singers
Call Number: MT883 .M67 2008Publication Date: 1975
Singing in Russian: A Guide to Language and Performance by
With its unique blend of eastern and western traditions of music and poetry, the world of Russian vocal music is rich in spirituality, intimacy, and passion for singers and their audience. Russian song traditions offer an ideal opportunity for self-expression and the forging of a deep connection with one's listeners. It also presents formidable challenges to singers at every level, ranging from the complexities native to sung and spoken Russian to the intricacies of diction and interpretation that lie behind the nuanced relationship between Russian music and poetry. Founded on the underlying principle that sung language differs dramatically from spoken language, Singing in Russian offers a comprehensive and accessible approach to understanding, mastering, and performing Russian vocal music. After covering the basics of the Cyrillic alphabet and Russian grammar and diction, author Emily Olin encourages readers to take the innovative step of using the music itself to guide the singer's pronunciation and interpretation. English sound comparisons, linguistic and musical examples, and multifaceted exercises complement textual explanations, reinforcing the techniques Olin has employed for over three decades. The addition of repertoire lists and practical recommendations further equip singers to confidently go from start to stage. Furthermore, the accompanying CD contains exercises that demonstrate and reinforce the correct sound and interpretation of everything from the alphabet to the presentation of vowels, consonants, words, and phrases.
Call Number: MT883 .O45 2012Publication Date: 2012
Singing Early Music: The Pronunciation of European Languages in the Late Middle Ages and Renaissance by
An invaluable resource to pronunciation of historic European languages from approximately 1200 to 1600 for singers, scholars, actors, and readers of early music and literature. Sample texts from Britain, France, Germany, Italy, and other regions are printed in the original language and in transcription in the International Phonetic Alphabet, and recorded on the accompanying CD. A separate chapter for each language addresses a wide range of Latin dialects.
Call Number: MT883 .S56 2004Publication Date: 2004
Singing in Mandarin: A Guide to Chinese Lyric Diction and Vocal Repertoire (eBook) by
The success of Chinese artists internationally across many art forms has focused the world's attention on the developing cultural phenomenon in China, an emerging stage for the vocal arts. As one of the most widely spoken languages in the world, Mandarin is poised to become the next addition to lyric languages. Singing in Mandarin: A Guide to Chinese Lyric Diction and Vocal Repertoire is a comprehensive guide to unlocking the mysteries of Chinese contemporary vocal literature. Singing in Mandarin provides guidance for both novices and those with previous experience singing or speaking Mandarin and is the first book of its kind to help bring the fascinating and previously inaccessible treasure of Chinese vocal music to Western audiences. to Western audiences.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2020
Search Tips and Resources
Search Tips for Diction Resources:
In OneSearch, you can add "IPA" (International Phonetic Alphabet) to a keyword search to find transliterations of songs, arias, or complete operas.
To find books about diction, search Singing--Diction
Specific Resources:
The series Diction Coach is a collection of several aria anthologies by voice range. Each volume includes IPA transliterations of arias, word-for-word English translations, and CDs with diction coaches from the Metropolitan Opera and The Juilliard School reciting the text slowly, allowing the student to repeat each line.
- Coloratura Arias for Soprano
- Arias for Mezzo-Soprano
- Arias for Tenor
- Arias for Baritone
- Arias for Bass
The ABCs of Russian Diction is a DVD by Vladimir Morosan. An accompanying insert includes information on transliteration of Russian and IPS.
- DVD Video 12379
Phonetic Readings of Songs and Arias: Authentic Pronunciations of 413 Italian, German, and French lyrics from "The Singer's Repertoire" in International Phonetic Alphabet Transcription, by Berton Coffin.
- Reference MT 883 .C631 1981
Nico Castel's Opera Libretti Series includes the original texts, word-by-word translations, and IPA transcriptions for entire opera libretti. They can be found in Music Reference and have call numbers ML 48 through ML 50.
Occasionally, an individual opera's libretto is published with English translation and IPA transcription, such as Smetana's Bartered Bride.
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.