Welcome to the Libraries!
Watch the videos to find out more about library locations and collections, how to use OneSearch, and how to choose and use specific library databases (online collections of materials you can access on or off campus).
- Not sure how to get started with a research project? Or maybe you've located a source, but are not sure whether it's reliable? Just contact us using any option on the Ask a Librarian page. Chat, text, call, email, or stop by the Library Information Desk. These services are even available on evenings and weekends!
- To search for books and articles from multiple library collections at once, use the OneSearch search box on the Libraries homepage. Search for a keyword or phrase, or select 'Advanced Search' to do a more detailed search. Use filters to the left on the search results page, and select the title or the 'full text' link to find the full text of an item you want. Or, for books and other physical materials, see the location information to find out where to go to locate the item.
- It's also important to use individual databases for your research. For example, if you are an exercise science major, you will want to use the database Sport Discuss Full-Text. This is a great database for physical therapy, sport medicine, and physical education. Databases offer many of the same tools that OneSearch does, including options for filters, the ability to check for full text with the Find It @ BALL STATE button, and tools that help with citation and saving and sharing your search results.