Questions? Just ask!
Office: Bracken Library BL 102
Email: setaylor@bsu.edu
MLA Citation Guides
- MLA citation style
Quick cheat sheet for the basics of MLA style, created by the staff at Ball State University Libraries. - Create Your MLA Style CitationsThis guide, created by the Ball State University Libraries, provides examples showing how to cite a wide variety of sources, both in text and in the work cited list, using the MLA 9th edition. It also provides basic citation guidance.
Writing Center at Ball State
For personalized help with your citations and papers, visit the Writing Center at Ball State.
They have two locations:
- Robert Bell (RB) 295
- Bracken Library, First Floor West
You're advised to make an appointment ahead of time.
Let's explore!
Research doesn't have to be just about finding books and articles on your topic. There are many more options for types of sources you can use to learn and lend interest and appeal to your papers and projects!
Using the broad topic for each of your groups and possibly the narrower topic you yourself are researching, explore the resources below. Think creatively about how you could use the sources that you find.
Kanopy Streaming Films
- Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.
Note: Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Ideas as you explore:
- Try scrolling down to see the categories they've organized films into.
- Hover on "Browse" at the top, to see some broader categories.
- Search on some key terms related to your topic.
Digital Media Repository
- Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
Ideas as you explore:
- Use Browse by... to explore by:
- Format
- Subject
- Collection
- Try searching by some keywords, understanding results will likely be about/from Ball State and East Central Indiana
OneSearch
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Ideas as you explore:
- Search at first by the topic of your group. (Ex. Climate, Politics, etc.)
- Then use the limiters on the left to explore, especially:
- Content Type
- Library Location
- Try searching more narrowly, by the topic you're researching.
Nexis Uni
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Also contains legal resources for Canada and the EU.
Ideas as you explore:
- Search on a broad topic, then use the limiters on the left to narrow. For example:
- Publication Type
- Subject
- Industry