Introduction
This research guide highlights resources Ball State University Archives and Special Collections resources that document LGBTQ+ history, community, literature, and cultural perspectives and research materials and creative works relevant to the lived experiences of LGBTQ+ persons. The guide is intended to provide a broad overview of resources on these topics, not an exhaustive list of all relevant materials in Archives and Special Collections.
Included are archival collections (including physical, digitized, and web-based collections), theses and dissertations, and works of literature and poetry.
The "LGBTQ+" label is a contemporary one that may not have been used by all persons or communities whose works are included or whose experiences and perspectives are documented in this guide. The guide broadly seeks to include the works, records, and archives of persons who were non-heterosexual or non-cisgender.
Additional information and resources may be found through Ball State University Archives and Special Collections finding aids, the Digital Media Repository, the Cardinal Scholar institutional repository, OneSearch, or the Ball State University Archives and Special Collections web archive project.
Related Resources
- Cardinal Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides access to Ball State's scholarly works and institutional records, including Theses and Dissertations and University Records and Publications. Note: You may need a BSU username and password to access some content.
- Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new window The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
