Skip to Main Content

ARCH 329 - Barry - Spring 2024

Resources for students in Prof. Kristin Barry's ARCH 329.

Keywords for Searches

Try multiple searches and search combinations including:

  • Main topic
  • Narrower topics
  • Broader topics
  • Style or culture
  • Time period
  • Specific examples
  • Designers or firms
  • Building types

Examples keyword searches:

  • Le Corbusier and Ronchamp
  • modernism and churches
  • Louis Kahn and light
  • Art nouveau architecture
  • arts and crafts architecture and materials
  • skyscrapers and 19th century

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Searching the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

  • The Avery Index is an article database. Note: Results from the Avery Index are NOT included in OneSearch results.
  • focuses on architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation
  • citations to articles from 2,500+ journals and magazines in architecture, etc.
  • covers articles published 1930s to the present (some coverage 1740s-present)

Find it on the University Libraries databases pages for Architecture and Planning.

Search tip:

Use the Find It @ BALL STATE buttons to search for full text, find the journal in the Architecture Library, or start an interlibrary loan request for a copy of the article.

Finding Books in the Architecture Library

Searching OneSearch for Books

  • OneSearch is the University Libraries' catalog and discovery tool
  • results include books and articles from select databases
  • to search specifically for books? Click on "Library catalog" in the list of filters to focus your search on books in the University Libraries.

Tip:  Most libraries assign Library of Congress Subject Headings to items in their catalogs. Look for subjects like these to use in your search:

  • Architects
  • Architecture--[Country, City]
  • Art nouveau (Architecture)
  • Bridges--Design and construction
  • Building--Details
  • Housing
  • Public buildings

WorldCat

Using WorldCat to Request Books from Other Libraries via Interlibrary Loan

  • WorldCat has information from 1000s of library catalogs worldwide
  • you can request copies of books from other libraries via interlibrary loan

Find it on the University Libraries databases pages. 

Tip: WorldCat uses the same subject headings as those in OneSearch. Try the same or similar searches in WorldCat to find books at other libraries.

JSTOR

Searching JSTOR for Scholarly Articles

  • JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive
  • includes full text of journals included
  • broad range of subject areas covered