LibGuides: NEWS 120 Newsgathering: Legal

Legal Databases

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states.

Description: Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Also contains legal resources for Canada and the EU.
Time Period: 18th century to present
Sources: Searches more than 15,000 sources.
Subject Headings: Business, General, Law, News, Social Sciences
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Legal Materials, Magazine Articles, News, Reference Resources, Report, Transcripts
ProQuest Congressional
Includes full text of bills, laws, regulations, the Federal Register, the U.S. Code, and many other congressional publications. Other features include extensive information about members of congress, the bills they sponsored, how they voted, and financial disclosures.

Description: Key database for information by and about the United States Congress. Includes full text of bills, laws, regulations, the Federal Register, the U.S. Code, and many other congressional publications. Other features include extensive information about members of congress, the bills they sponsored, how they voted, and financial disclosures.
Time Period: 1789 to present
Primary Materials: Citations, Legal Materials, Maps, Report
Subject Headings: Law, Social Sciences