Using OneSearch to Find Articles
On the library's home page, locate the OneSearch search box and enter the terms of your search. It is advised to use one or two-word keywords linked together by "and," as seen in the picture below.
To access full-text articles, select the limiter on the left side of the page that reads "Full Text Online," and the limiter that reads "Journal Article," as indicated by the yellow arrows in the picture below.
Databases
You can find scholarly articles and resources on diversity and inclusion with some of these databases:
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices contains articles from more than 750 alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals. The publications were produced by feminist, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press. The contents come from libraries and donors in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. Copyrighted content is made available by the explicit permission of the copyright holder, assignee, or transferee.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture documents LGBT political and social movements of the 20th century to present. The collection contains a wide range of materials that covers the political evolution of gay rights and illuminates the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. The content should be of interest to students and scholars in cultural studies, history, women's studies, gender studies, American studies, social theory, and literature.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States provides access to an online journal of the same name, a chronology of U.S. women's history, more than historical 4,000 documents, a dictionary of social movements, and book and website reviews. Documents include 90,000 pages of federal, state, and local publications on the status of women between 1961 and 2005. Other documents are articles, editorials, book chapters, speeches, biographical portraits, proceedings, ephemera, photographs, charts, and tables.
