Using OneSearch to Find Books and Articles
For information on how you can find more books and articles related to diversity and inclusion, see the Finding Books and Finding Articles tabs on the left side of this LibGuide
Resources
The Multicultural Center supports and advances the university’s commitment to cultural diversity by:
- Serving as a resource for the recruitment, retention, and enrichment of students of color
- Promoting multicultural understanding through opportunities for cross-cultural connections
- Providing programs and services to address the co-curricular needs of all students
- Celebrating the historical contributions of diverse groups
Includes links to campus resources including the offices of Institutional Diversity, Disability Services, and Veterans Affairs.
Great administrative resource for news and events on campus, affinity groups, available scholarships for diverse candidates, and demographic data about faculty, staff, and the Ball State student body.
Contains information on all student disability issues at Ball State, and includes detailed information on the accessibility of campus buildings, events and programs, and a list of recipients of the Outstanding Alumni Award.
This page has important information about Title IX, the Ball State Counseling Center, LGBTQ and Trans Safe Zones, a map of gender neutral bathrooms, and more.
Invaluable resource for veterans, reservists, guardsmen, and family members. Contains information on grants and scholarships, employment, and a useful page titled Resources for Veterans.
The Fifth Element by Call Number: OnlineExplores spoken word poetry as a tool for social justice, critical feminist pedagogy, and new ways of teaching.
Managing Diversity Flashpoints in Higher Education by Call Number: Online
Social Inclusion and Higher Education by Call Number: Online
Academic Ableism by Call Number: Online
Religion and Social Justice for Immigrants by Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by Call Number: Online
Articles on Diversity and Inclusion
- Diversity ≠ Inclusion: Promoting Integration in Higher Education, by Marta TiendaPartial Abstract: "I argue that enrollment of a diverse student body is but a pragmatic first step toward the broader social goal of inclusion and ask whether motives for campus diversification are aligned with pedagogic goals... Integration is not an automatic by-product of campus diversity; therefore, to harness the benefits of diverse student bodies, institutional leaders must pursue deliberate strategies that promote inclusion."
- The Benefits of Climate for Inclusion for Gender-Diverse Groups, by Lisa H. NishiiAbstract: "I introduce the construct of climate for inclusion, which involves eliminating relational sources of bias by ensuring that identity group status is unrelated to access to resources, creating expectations and opportunities for heterogeneous individuals to establish personalized cross-cutting ties, and integrating ideas across boundaries in joint problem solving. I show that within inclusive climates, interpersonal bias is reduced in such a way that gender diversity is associated with lower levels of conflict. In turn, the negative effect that group conflict typically has on unit-level satisfaction disappears. This has important implications, as unit-level satisfaction is negatively associated with turnover in groups."
- Expanding Diversity: Noncategorical Inclusion and Equity, by Robert Henley WoodyAbstract: "Contemporary public policy and laws give strong support to equal protection and civil rights. This article argues that a modern society and each person therein should cultivate qualities in one’s self and others that will promote inclusion and equity to continually reduce and eventually eliminate unjust bias, prejudice, and discrimination (albeit perhaps an “impossible dream”). To date, equal protection has depended primarily on governmental regulations based on categorization of human factors. It is argued that everyone, particularly those persons granted “professional” status in society, should aspire for self-concept features that will move toward adopting and expanding inclusion to eliminate the need for categorization per se. Rather than diversity per se, inclusion and equity have contemporary support for better obtaining the personal and social values that can reduce bias, discrimination, and prejudice. It is recommended that interventions be directed at the structural, institutionalized, and close-minded barriers that exist in individual and collective decision making."
Communicating Across Cultures by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Developing Cultural Adaptability by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Articles on Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace
- Diversity & Inclusion ARE ESSENTIAL TO A global virtual team's SUCCESS, by Marjorie DervenAbstract: "The article focuses on role of diversity and inclusion for the success of global virtual teams. Topics discussed include need for employees to build local stakeholder commitment and improve innovation capabilities; benefits such as understanding cultural norms at the local level and for better customer retention; and its role as a purposeful practice of encouraging different viewpoints."
- Support of workplace diversity policies: The role of race, gender, and beliefs about inequality, by William J. Scarborough et al.Partial abstract: "Workplace diversity policies are more effective when they are supported by managers and workers, but there is little direct evidence on how people feel about these policies or why they hold certain opinions. In this study, we analyze data from a survey experiment designed to assess public opinion about a range of workplace diversity policies. We examine how support for these policies among employed respondents varies by race, gender, and by the targeted population (i.e. whether the policies aim to improve the workplace representation of women or racial minorities)...we find that respondents report lower levels of support for workplace policies when these policies are framed as a mechanism to increase diversity than when they are framed as being needed to address discrimination or if no justification is given for the policy. Our findings highlight the role of inequality beliefs in shaping worker support for diversity policies, suggesting directions for future research on how such beliefs are developed."
- Workplace diversity and intercultural communication: A phenomenological study, by Adam Evans et al.Partial abstract: "For decades, the United States has seen an increasing number of immigrants, which has led to a significant increase in cultural diversity in the United States. This phenomenological study examines the contextual history of professional non-native English-speaking women in the United States to form a basis of comparison with native English speakers. In this study, 16 professional, native English-speaking women currently working in the US were interviewed. Participants in this study were asked to describe professional and intercultural experiences through interactions with non-native English-speaking coworkers, any expectations of the interactions or violations of those expectations, and any miscommunications that may have occurred."
Safe Spaces, Brave Spaces by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Diversity and Inclusion in Global Higher Education by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Creating Multicultural Change on Campus by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Race and Gender in the Classroom by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Transforming the Academy by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Articles on Diversity and Inclusion in the Classroom
- A Social Justice Approach to Undergraduate Psychology Education, by Susanna GallorAbstract: "As a discipline that addresses a broad range of human experiences across the lifespan, the field of psychology has a responsibility to ensure that human diversity is reflected in education, training, research, and valuable service that is often targeted to diverse communities across society. Multicultural and diversity psychology has pushed the field to examine an array of individual and cultural differences, and to make multicultural competence a defining feature of psychological education, training, and research. Adopting a social justice approach to psychology, particularly undergraduate psychology education and research, can help to ensure that the field meets this social responsibility and more intentionally addresses implications of individual and systemic oppression. This editorial seeks to articulate what a social justice approach means for undergraduate psychology education and begins to explore social justice principles and strategies that can be applied in teaching, practice, and research"
- When Core Values Collide: Diversity, Inclusion, and Free Speech, by Pareena G. LawrenceAbstract: "The article discusses diversity, inclusion, and free speech. Topics include how faculty and administrators may respond to controversy; how to manage the problems that often surround a controversy such as problems of legal rights and responsibilities, safety and security on campus, allocation of budget resources, the emotional lives of our students; and how to proceed when people do not want to argue."
- Building gender inclusivity: disentangling the influence of classroom demography on classroom participation, by Tina R. Opie, et al.Abstract: "Despite increased attention on women in business, concerns abound regarding the extent to which business schools are creating inclusive learning environments that support the leadership development of both male and female students. Using an organizational demography lens, we investigate the interactive effects of student gender, faculty gender, and classroom demography on class participation. We focus on class participation as it is essential to students’ overall learning and development especially concerning leadership. Our findings demonstrate that student and faculty demography interacts with context in unexpected ways to affect participation. Specifically, when women students are in the minority and have a female professor, they receive higher participation grades, particularly as class size decreases. The findings from this study have important implications for business school faculty and administrators as they work to build more inclusive learning environments which support all students’ development as leaders."
Basic Concepts of Intercultural Communication by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Intercultural Communication by Call Number: OnlineFull text online through BSU Libraries - click on title.
Articles on Cross-Cultural Communication
- Intercultural (mis)communication in teacher-student interaction, by Fred E. AndersonAbstract: "This article explores communication and miscommunication in Japanese university settings, in English‐medium classroom situations where the students are Japanese and the instructor is a ‘native’, generally Inner Circle, speaker of English. The focus of the analysis is on two aspects of classroom style that are affected by teacher's and students’ divergent norms of interaction and interpretation: (1) turn‐taking behavior, especially student non‐responsiveness represented by an abundance of silence; and (2) forms of address, particularly the names, with or without a title, that students use in calling their teachers. The article is influenced by, and seen as an extension of, Larry E. Smith's work on English for cross‐cultural communication and discourse across cultures."
- Cross-cultural communication and the art of sign-making, by Charlotte ConradAbstract: "Traditional western linguistics portrays language as a fixed code and the language user as a code operator. Accordingly, knowing the code should guarantee the ability to communicate well. Yet asymmetrical cultural backgrounds in communicating agents can be seen to compromise or enable communication in ways that are not explainable based on this view. I suggest that we can move beyond this anomaly in our current understanding of language and communication by changing our minds on human perception so as to encompass the individual contribution. I describe sign-making as an act of perception that helps the perceiver find the interaction potential in a situation, and look at how such an account can better accommodate an understanding of what happens during cross-cultural communication."
- Intercultural Communication Scholarship in the U.S. Heartland, by Mark P. OrbeAbstract: "This essay works to debunk the myth that the Central States region is a less-than-ideal location for intercultural communication scholarship. The essay also explores how co-cultural theorizing scholarship—a product of living/teaching/learning in the Midwest—reflects a significant contribution to intercultural communication scholarship."