LibGuides: Education Resources in Archives and Special Collections: Gen. Education-Digital and Photos

Digital/Photograph Collections

In an effort to increase access to Middletown and Stoeckel Archives of Local History materials for researchers, the Ball State Universities Libraries, in collaboration with the Center for Middletown Studies, is developing the "Middletown Digital Archives" and other digital collections of documents, oral histories, photographs, maps, and other sources from Archives and Special Collections. As material is digitized, it will become available as part of the Digital Media Repository and accessible through this Web site.

Muncie Times Newspaper (OVA 50)
Collection consists of digitized volumes of the Muncie Times newspaper published by owner and publisher Bea Moten-Foster since 1991. This bi-monthly publication serves the African American communities...
more...less...
...of Muncie, Richmond, Marion, New Castle and Anderson, Indiana. It includes several articles on Ebonics (January 20, 1997 and September 16, 1999).
Middletown Area Studies
Annual surveys sponsored by Ball State’s College of Science and Humanities and the Center for Middletown Studies between 1978 and 2004. The purpose of these studies was to assess the views and lifestyles of citizens on major topics including...
more...less...
...questions of life satisfaction, education, income, family religion, and politics. The data is available online through the Association of Religion Data Archives at http://www.thearda.com/archive/middletown.asp.
Middletown Digital Oral History Collection
The Middletown Digital Oral History Collection consists of audio and accompanying transcriptions for oral history interviews conducted with African American, Jewish and Catholic communities of Muncie, Indiana and local labor union leaders.
Spurgeon Greene Photograph Collection (P 040)
Richard A. (Dick) Greene was born in Richmond, Indiana, in 1903, but his family moved to Muncie while he was a child. In 1945, Greene started his "Seen and Heard in Our Neighborhood" column for the Muncie Star.
more...less...
The photographs provide invaluable historical documentation of Dick Greene's "neighborhood" - Muncie, Indiana, from the 1930s through the 1970s.
W.A. Swift Photograph Collection (P 008)
W.A. Swift was born in Metamora, Indiana, on August 17, 1877. He moved to Muncie in 1918 and was working for the Delaware Engraving Company as a photographer by 1923. He was a commercial photographer in Muncie through the 1940s.
more...less...
The Swift collection documents both the ordinary and extraordinary events of daily life in Muncie, primarily in the 1920s. The photographs are available online as part of the Middletown Digital Archives in the Digital Media Repository
Other Side of Middletown Photograph Collection (EF 002)
The Other Side of Middletown Photograph Collection consists of 150 digital images illustrating the history of the life and achievements of African Americans in Muncie and Delaware County through photographs donated by members of the community.
more...less...
The photographs are available online as part of the Middletown Digital Archives in the Digital Media Repository.
Otto Sellers Photograph Collection (P 020)
Otto Sellers was a commercial and portrait photographer in Muncie in the early part of the 20th century. Sellers kept written logs for many of his photographs, taken primarily between 1908 and 1926.
NewsLink Indiana
The digital videos in this collection consist of short news briefs created by NewsLink Indiana.
Muncie and Delaware County Historic Maps and Atlases
This digital collection features historic maps of Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana dating from 1826-1903. Included are maps of individual towns, the twelve Delaware County townships, and An Atlas of Delaware County published in 1887.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Collection
Sanborn® Fire Insurance Maps of Muncie, Indiana Collection consists of 200 maps depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of the city from 1883 through 1911. T