Atlas, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedic dictionary of applied linguistics: a handbook for language teachingCall Number: General Collection P129 .E53 1998
The encyclopedia of applied linguistics [electronic resource]Call Number: BOOKS, ONLINE
Encyclopedia of language & linguisticsCall Number: General Collection P29 .E48 2006 V.1-14
The linguistics encyclopediaCall Number: General Collection P29 .L52 2004
Longman dictionary of language teaching and applied linguisticsCall Number: General Collection P129.R5 R53 2002
The world atlas of language structuresCall Number: Map Collection Reference: P143 .W67 2005 (2 East)
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics by
A ground-breaking resource available either online or as a 10-volume print set bringing together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics Combines individual entries ranging from 1,500 to 4,000 words, with longer, essaystyle contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas Includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries Covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language, Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language Features over 200 entries on the philosophy and history of applied linguistics and biographies of key applied linguists Updates and new articles available twice a year, enabling the work to stay relevant and cutting-edge 10 Volumes www.encyclopediaofappliedlinguistics.com Updating
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2013
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by
Now in its second edition, this invaluable work is the most authoritative dictionary of linguistics of its kind available. The author, Peter Matthews, is professor of linguistics at Cambridge University and an established expert in the field. The dictionary contains over 3,150 entries coveringevery aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), and key figures and ideas in linguistics.Fully revised and updated for the second edition, the dictionary now boasts greatly enhanced coverage of sociolinguistics, making it an ideal reference for those studying linguistics. It also includes entries on notable recent theorists in the field, such as Del Hymes and Peter Trudgill.Wide-ranging and accessible, this dictionary is ideal reference for students and teachers in language-related courses, and a great introduction to linguistics for the general reader with an interest in language and its study.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2007
General Collection
Linguistics for non-linguists: a primer with exercisesCall Number: P121 .P341 2000 (3 East)
Language in the mind: an introduction to Guillaume's theoryCall Number: P121 .H528 2007 (3 East)
Inventing English: a portable history of the languageCall Number: PE1075 .L47 2007 (3 East)
Writings in general linguisticsCall Number: P121 .S3713 2006 (3 East)
Key thinkers in linguistics and the philosophy of languageCall Number: P107 .K49 2005 (3 East)
Books by Subject Headings
Click the links below to find books on these topics.