Databases and Indexes
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Description: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) covers all aspects of the study of language. All of the various fields of linguistics are included such as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Contains some full text.
Time Period: 1973 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 serial publications and thousands of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Psychology, Social Sciences (Phonetics, Phonology, Morphology, Syntax, and Semantics)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Description: MLA International Bibliography is an electronic version the print index published by the Modern Language Association beginning in the 1920's. Subjects include literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Contains some full text articles.
Time Period: 1926 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 5,000 journals and series.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures
Publisher: Modern Language Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Description: Cross searching of Science Citation Index Expanded back to 1973, Social Sciences Citation Index back to 1981/82, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index back to 1976.
Time Period: 1956-present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index
Publisher: Clarivate Analytics
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited - Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Description: A key source for discovering doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields from around the world. Some 250,000 new dissertations from leading academic institutions are added to the database each year, many with full text and/ or a free 24 page preview. This includes some from Ball State University, others can be found in Cardinal Scholar. The full text may be purchased for most dissertations added since 1997.
Note: Dissertations and theses from other institutions can be obtained at a discount through our Interlibrary Loan department. Contact them for details at (765) 285-1324.
Time Period: 17th century to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 5 million dissertations and theses and includes the full text of 3 million.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Dissertations and Theses)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Dissertation and Theses
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
