LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Studies: Find Articles

Research Databases

These databases are good places to find articles related to topics in LGBTQ studies. To see the full list of databases available at the University Libraries, click on the Databases link on the University Libraries website.

LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Documents LGBT political and social movements of the 20th century to present. The collection contains a wide range of materials that covers the political evolution of gay rights and illuminates the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Description: LGBT Thought and Culture documents LGBT political and social movements of the 20th century to present. The collection contains a wide range of materials that covers the political evolution of gay rights and illuminates the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. The content should be of interest to students and scholars in cultural studies, history, women's studies, gender studies, American studies, social theory, and literature.
Time Period: 20th century to present
Sources: Contains 150,000 pages of material.
Subject Headings: General, History, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Archival Material, Books/e-books, Magazine Articles, Other
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Online collection of newspapers. Covers major U.S. newspapers (such as the New York Times, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times), regional newspapers from every state, and international newspapers from nearly every country on the globe.
Description: Articles from 1,000's of newspapers around the world. Provides full text access to many local and regional newspapers in the U.S. Also contains magazine articles, transcripts, videos, and other sources.
Time Period: 1977 to present
Sources: Contains articles from 3,200 sources including newspapers, blogs, and magazines.
Subject Headings: General, News
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Audio, Citations, Magazine Articles, News, Reviews, Trade Publications, Transcripts, Videos
Information Included: Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: NewsBank
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR functions as an electronic archive of older journals. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Most recent five years not included.
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2013 for PDF images of original articles which include photographs and drawings, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Supplements, including the Magazine and the Book Review are also included.
Description: Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 3 years prior to the current year. Includes PDF images of original articles with photographs and drawings, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Note: An additional year of content is added annually.
Time Period: 1851 to 3 years ago
Sources: 1
Subject Headings: General, History, News (News)
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Archival Material, News, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: Older issues of the New York Times (1857-2005) are on microfilm in the Periodicals and Microforms Collection, Bracken 1 East. Current issues of the paper are in the Current Periodicals collection, also in Bracken 1 East.
Publisher: ProQuest Information & Learning
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Key database for the field of political science and public policy issues
Description: Key database for the field of political science and public policy issues. Includes PAIS Archives 1914-1976.
Time Period: 1914 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 3,800 journals.
Subject Headings: History, Law, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Political Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included:Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Time Period: 1887 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: American Psychological Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Key database for sociology and related fields.
Description: Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Time Period: 1952 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Sociology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Papers
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window Humanities Full Text encompasses all key fields of the humanities and provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Some topics covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion.s.
Description: Humanities Full Text encompasses all key fields of the humanities and provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Some topics covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion.
Time Period: 1981
Sources: Provides indexing and abstracting for 680 journals and magazines and the full text for 310.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Gale Primary Resources Archives Unbound: Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies
Contains five collections of a variety of materials ranging from correspondence to press clippings.
Black Life in America
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

Find It @ Ball State: Helping you find the full text of the title you want

What's "Find It"?

When you' button with this text: "Find It @ Ball State" re using a database, and can't find a link to the full text of an article, look for a Find It @ Ball State button.

Find It helps you to search the Libraries' other databases and subscriptions to see if the full text is available through another resource.

If it is available, Find It provides a link to the text of the article.
If it cannot find the full-text, Find It provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request that we get a copy of the article from another library.

To use Find It, click on the red Find It @ Ball State button.

If we DO have full text access to the article, a page will be displayed with options for access under "Full Text Format Options." The typical options are:

PDF: the file format reflecting the formatting for a printed page
Link: taking you to the webpage version of the article

red arrow pointing to area with Full Text Format Options

If we do NOT have immediate full text access to the article, the OneSearch record for the article will be displayed.

Look under "Links" for "Request this item with InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad."
Click there, and log in with your Ball State username and password.
More information about placing an Interlibrary Loan request.

Links "Request the item with Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad"