LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Studies: Home

Getting Started

This guide will help you find information and resources about and for people who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender. Use the subcategories to get started.

Useful article databases for LGBTQIA+ studies include:

LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture documents LGBT political and social movements of the 20th century to present. The collection contains a wide range of materials that covers the political evolution of gay rights and illuminates the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. The content should be of interest to students and scholars in cultural studies, history, women's studies, gender studies, American studies, social theory, and literature.
Description: LGBT Thought and Culture documents LGBT political and social movements of the 20th century to present. The collection contains a wide range of materials that covers the political evolution of gay rights and illuminates the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. The content should be of interest to students and scholars in cultural studies, history, women's studies, gender studies, American studies, social theory, and literature.
Time Period: 20th century to present
Sources: Contains 150,000 pages of material.
Subject Headings: General, History, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Archival Material, Books/e-books, Magazine Articles, Other
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Time Period: 1887 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: American Psychological Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Description: Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Time Period: 1952 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Sociology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Papers
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Useful OneSearch search terms:

Homosexuality
Gay liberation movement
Sexual orientation
Bible and homosexuality
Lesbianism
Male homosexuality
Psychoanalysis and homosexuality
Bisexuality
Transgender people
Transgender people -- identity