LibGuides: History, Muncie: Databases

Articles

To find scholarly articles related to Muncie you should try using America: History & Life, Academic Search Premier, and JSTOR. Remeber, when searching the databases use AND, OR, and NOT to connect your search terms.

America's Historical Newspapers-Indiana State Collection and African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Features full text articles from many historical newspapers, spanning the years 1817 to 1922. Includes 15 Indiana newspapers.
Description: Cross search or browse the content of nearly 300 Indiana and U.S. historical newspapers. You will find articles, eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and more.
Time Period: 1817 to 1922
Sources: Contains the full text of nearly 300 historical U.S. newspapers.
Subject Headings: History, News, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Archival Material, Citations, Legal Materials, Maps, News, Other
Information Included: Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: NewsBank
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1964 to date. Indexes journal articles and book chapters covering United States and Canadian history. Available from the Articles & Databases page.
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1965-present. Provides abstracts and some full text access to over 8,000 journals.Available from the Articles & Databases page.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
19th Century through the past 3-5 years. Provides full-text access to over 420 journals.Available from the Articles & Databases page.
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1955-present. Provides abstracts from over 2300 academic journals.Available from the Articles and Databases page.
Description: Historical Abstracts indexes articles that cover world history from the 15th century forward, including military history, women's history, and the history of education. The database includes some linked full text and searches can be limited to articles about a specified historical period.
Time Period: 1914 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals and provides the full text for more than 475 journal titles.
Subject Headings: History, Mobile, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: Historical abstracts
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Tables and essays containing quantitative data and facts of American history.Available from the Articles and Databases page.
Description: The Historical Statistics of the United States is an expanded, fully cross referenced version of the landmark print reference source of the same name. It allows you to create custom tables and download data in RIS, text, or CSV format. Search or browse data from what is considered to be the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
Time Period: 1790 to 2000
Sources: Statistics from over 1,000 sources, over 37,000 data series.
Subject Headings: History, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Statistics or Data
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: none
Publisher: Cambridge UP
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: unlimited