Librarian Profile
Kevin Brooks
Contact:
kbrooks2@bsu.edu
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
765-285-1118
Remember...
Most physical copies of dictionaries, encyclopedia, and style guides will be found in the General Collection on first floor West. This means that, while many circulate for 3 days, some must remain in the library and do not circulate.
Of course, there are many online dictionaries and encyclopedia available through the Libraries as well. You can access them from our Databases page. Just click on the "Databases by Subject" link on the left hand side and then select either "General" or "Reference."
Style & Literature Guides
- Author's Handbook of Styles for Life Science JournalsR119 .A85 1996 (Science Library)
Provides information needed to compile a manuscript for journal submission. - Publication Manual of the APABF76.7 .P83 2010 (Bracken and the Science Library)
Style manual for the American Psychological Association, also used for Biology. - Style guides from IUPUIONLINE
A list of links to various online FAQs, guides, tips, and tutorials on citation styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago (Turabian).
Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues3 vols. Science Library, Cooper Nursing Rm16, GE10 .E52
- Oxford Reference OnlineONLINE DATABASE
Background Sources
- Encyclopedia of IslandsGeneral Collection, GB471 .E53 2009
- Historical Dictionary of EnvironmentalismGeneral Collection, GE195 .D358 2009
- Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures4 vols. General Collection G63 .K874 2007
Gale E-Books
These titles are available as E-Books in the Gale eBooks (which is available on the Articles and Databases page).
- Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in AmericaThis is an e-book. Click on the URL listed towards the bottom of the record to search within the title for your topic.
- Encyclopedia of Environment and SocietyThis resource comes in both print and as an e-book. Print: General Collection HM856 .E53 2007, 5 vols.
Click the URL in the record (that appears when clicking on the title) and search the electronic version with your topic. - Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy2 vols. General Collection
- The Concise Encyclopedia of StatisticsThis is an e-book. Click on the URL at the bottom of the record (must click on title above first). You can then search with your topic.
- Alternative EnergyThis is an e-book. Click title above, then click the URL at the bottom of the record, search within using your topic.