LibGuides: Legal Resources: Sports Law

Sports Law Resources

These sources are particularly useful for sports law topics and may consulted in addition to Nexis Uni.

Sport Discus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to articles related to sports law.
Description: Key database for sport medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. The database does have some items published in the 19th century.
Time Period: 1975-present
Sources: over 2,000 journals
Subject Headings: Education, Health, Mobile (Physical Education and Sports Medicine)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings
Information Included: Citations, abstracts, full text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Sport Information Resource Centre
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2-4
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes journals in the field education and includes articles related to sports law.
Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Mobile, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: U.S. Department of Education
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This database also includes citations to articles related to sports law.
Description: The Sports Medicine & Education Index is a good database for articles about physical education. Patrons may also want to use Sport Discus.
Time Period: 1970 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 380 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Health (Sports, Physiology and Physical Education)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Sport Law Textbooks
These textbooks may discuss sports law cases.
West's Education Law Digest
The digest will help you find cases on a topic. Note: You may want to use the "Descriptive Word Index" from the Supreme Court Digest to find cases on a topic.