LibGuides: Native American Studies: Searching for Journal Articles

Research Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text
Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 19th century to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.

Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
Sociological Abstracts
Key database for sociology and related fields. Covers items published between 1952 to the present.

Description: Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Time Period: 1952 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Sociology)
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Papers
PAIS International
Key database for the field of political science and public policy issues. Covers 1914 to the present.

Description: Key database for the field of political science and public policy issues. Includes PAIS Archives 1914-1976.
Time Period: 1914 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 3,800 journals.
Subject Headings: History, Law, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Political Science)
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
JSTOR
JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. The majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, however.

Description: JSTOR provides full text journal titles from more than 60 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back to the 19 century. More than 1,840 of its journals include articles from 2020-2025.
Time Period: 19th century to present.
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Architecture and Planning, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, Fine Arts, Health, Medicine, and Nursing, History and Culture, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science and Law, Psychology, Mathematics and Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Project MUSE
Full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format.

Description: Project Muse is a full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from JSTOR, in PDF format.
Time Period: 1993 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 300 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles