LibGuides: Native American Studies: Literature &amp; Language

From the shelves ... literature and language

Dictionary of Native American Literature by Andrew Wiget (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Native American Literatures: an Introduction by Suzanne Evertsen Lundquist
Call Number: Online
Native American Writers of the United States by Kenneth M. Roemer
Call Number: Online
Surviving Through the Days by Herbert W. Luthin (Editor)
Call Number: Online
The Anguish of Snails by Barre Toelken
Call Number: Online

Research Databases from the University Libraries

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) covers all aspects of the study of language. All of the various fields of linguistics are included such as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Contains some full text.
Description: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) covers all aspects of the study of language. All of the various fields of linguistics are included such as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Contains some full text.
Time Period: 1973 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 serial publications and thousands of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Psychology, Social Sciences (Phonetics, Phonology, Morphology, Syntax, and Semantics)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an electronic version the print index published by the Modern Language Association beginning in the 1920's. Subjects include literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Contains some full text articles.
Description: MLA International Bibliography is an electronic version the print index published by the Modern Language Association beginning in the 1920's. Subjects include literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Contains some full text articles.
Time Period: 1926 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 5,000 journals and series.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures
Publisher: Modern Language Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Online Collections

Tribal Writers Digital Library (Sequoyah National Research Center)

http://ualrexhibits.org/tribalwriters/

Online repository of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose. Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada.

American Indians in Children's Literature

http://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.blogspot.com/

The content of the website is designed to help people develop a critical stance when evaluating American Indians in children’s books. Discusses the portrayal of native cultures and people in children's literaure.

Wikipedia: Indigenous Languages of the Americas

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indigenous_languages_of_the_Americas