LibGuides: Wellness and Well-Being: Physical Wellness

Searching for Articles

The databases below are good places to start looking for articles related to physical wellness. These and more can be found on the Ball State University Libraries databases list.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Key database for the nursing and allied health professions.
Description: Key database for the nursing and allied health professions, which indexes more than 4,100 peer reviewed journals including the publications of the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
The database allows you to limit your search to Evidence-Based Practice resources.
Time Period: 1981 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 5,400 journals, magazines, and trade publications and provides the full of 70 titles.
Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Science (Nursing)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the premier index of medical journal articles.
Description: PubMed was created by National Library of Medicine in 1996. It includes all of MEDLINE plus citations which have not had MeSH terms assigned and "ahead of Print" articles. It also includes some full text articles.
Time Period: 1946 to present
Sources: Provides indexing for more than 5,200 journals.
Subject Headings: Health, Psychology, Science
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: National Library of Medicine
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
This database contains 3D models of the human body which can be rotated 360 degrees.
Description: This database contains 3D models of the human body which can be rotated 360 degrees. Layers can also be exposed by peeling them back. To view models click on any of the 8 modules including: Anatomy for Exercise, Anatomy for Yoga, Anatomy for Otolaryngology, Audiology, Functional Anatomy; Interactive Learning Activities for SLP, Speech Language Pathology; and Sports Injuries: Foot 2/e.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Contains 8 learning modules with 1,000's of 3D images.
Subject Headings: Health, Science (Otolaryngology, Audiology, Speech Language Pathology, Anatomy for Exercise, Sports Injuries)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Images
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Teton Data Systems
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited