Introduction
Welcome to the African American/multi-ethnic literature guide. African American literature spans many genres, time periods, and disciplines; numerous primary and secondary resources; a fresh view of history and culture through refocused retellings of events; and the centering of marginalized voices and stories.
Building a foundation
Before fully diving into African American studies, you may want to advance your foundational understanding of African American and multi-ethnic American literary and cultural studies as a field. Some texts to get you started include:
The Norton Anthology of African American Literature by Publication Date: 2014This anthology covers 1746 to the present, featuring 140 writers, multiple genres, and an array of vernacular forms.
African American Literary Theory by Publication Date: 2000This text covers key debates in each period, documenting texts and arguments that are central to African American literary theory from the 1920s to the present. It is not available at Ball State University Libraries but can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Words of Fire: An Anthology of African-American Feminist Thought by Publication Date: 1995Words of Fire contains a range of essays navigating Black feminist thought and the Black woman's position regarding the feminist movement.
Multiethnic Literature and Canon Debates by Publication Date: 2006This collection takes on the challenge of reexamining the canon to include multiethnic literature.
Reference works
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford African American Studies Center combines reference works with additional materials to create a collection that focuses on African American and African history and culture, with more than 10,000 articles. This core content includes various biographies, encyclopedias, and dictionaries that cover African History from the Colonial Period to the present.
Flagship journals
- African American ReviewAfrican American Review publishes essays covering literature, theatre, film, visual arts, poetry, fiction, and more.
- MELUS (Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States)MELUS is a journal for Multi-Ethnic literature, including works from a multiplicity of races, ethnicities, histories, and cultures. The journal focuses on changing the picture of what is commonly referred to as "American Literature" and on expanding on the established canon.
- CallalooCallaloo is dedicated to the literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishing work by and about writers of African descent worldwide. While not exclusively dedicated to the African American experience, their mixture of fiction, poetry, criticism, interviews, drama, and visual art provide vital and interesting context for a variety of literary works.
Primary sources
Primary sources are often first-hand accounts and can include original documents, newspaper reports that were written by or include quotes from direct witnesses, speeches, diaries, letters, interviews, and original research, as well as videos, audio, or photos that capture an event. Archives are a great source for finding primary sources. Ball State University has many archival collections available to students, links to which can be found on our General page. Other archives relevant to African American literary studies include:
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies Center is an online resource that provides access to numerous primary sources, including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database, The Chicago Defender, Black Literature Index, and Black Abolitionists Papers. It covers topics that include Black Studies, African Diaspora, African American History, and more.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black CultureLocated in Harlem in New York City, this research institution, an affiliate of the New York Public Library, is rooted in showcasing, researching, and preserving materials recounting African American experiences. Physical materials are available for those willing to travel, but the “Digital Schomburg” section of the site provides access to scholarship on the global Black experience and a wealth of online materials curated by the staff. Some primary source materials from the Schomburg Center are included in Black Studies Center (described above).
- Folkstreams This link opens in a new windowFolkstreams is a database which provides access to more than 300 films, focusing specifically on American folklore. These films cover many communities, including black communities. A large portion of the films offered are linked to published research. African-American Culture Films is its own section within Folkstreams with films documenting many aspects of black culture, communities, arts, and more.
Major organizations and their conferences
When looking at expanding your research, getting your foot in the door, and meeting new people who are interested in the same type of research you are, conferences are a great place to go. Conferences offer opportunities for comparing and sharing research, expanding your knowledge, and networking. There are numerous conferences held within the African American literature world, which bring together established scholars and those looking to learn and grow within their field.
- MELUS (Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States)Not only does MELUS publish the flagship journal for Multi-Ethnic literature, they also hold conferences. The site includes details about upcoming conferences, including guidelines for submissions, as well a link to information about past conferences.
- American Literature AssociationThe American Literature Association provides opportunities for researchers who study American authors to come together for scholarly interaction, sharing research, networking, and more. The association's major activities are its conferences. They welcome all forms of scholarship and also sponsor smaller conferences called symposia, which are usually focused on a genre, theme, or topic.