Genre
Here are resources that should be helpful for researching your film's genre.
Reference Resources
Try this example search in OneSearch to locate reference information (dictionaries, encyclopedias).
Take a look at this entry in Oxford Reference online and link out to related terms.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Click here or find Gale Literature Resource Center listed on the Libraries' Databases page.
Use the search box to search for your genre of choice. I tried 'Mystery' for this example.
You may be interested in essays and articles related to your genre in general, but if you would like to focus on film, select the Subjects button under Filter Your Results and select Movies. You may also want to try selecting Movie Directors.
Academic Search Complete
Click here or find Academic Search Complete listed on the Libraries' Databases page.
We can also add an additional helpful database for film. To do this, select Choose Databases.
In the list, select the checkbox for Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
Try a simple search with your genre, genre, and film in the search boxes. Click here to view an example search for the mystery genre.
Film
Here are resources that should be helpful for researching your particular film.
Use OneSearch to find articles, books, and more
Try using OneSearch to search for your film's title. If not successful, try searching for the film's director.
Use the filters on the left to locate the type of source that interests you.
Take a look at this example search for Gone with the Wind.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Click here or find Gale Literature Resource Center listed on the Libraries' Databases page.
Use the search box to search for your film's title or director. I tried The Birds for this example.
Here is an example search.
If you are having trouble limiting to film, select the Subjects button under Filter Your Results and select Movies. You may also want to try selecting Movie Directors.
Academic Search Complete
Click here or find Academic Search Complete listed on the Libraries' Databases page.
We can also add an additional helpful database for film. To do this, select Choose Databases.
In the list, select the checkbox for Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
Try a search for your film title. If the film or series title is very general, you may want to try adding the director's name or a major theme or subtopic to get more relevant results. Click here to view an example search for The Birds.
You may also be interested in trying the database Communication & Mass Media Complete and/or adding it with the Choose Databases option as well.