Andrew Misler
Library Services
- Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by chat, phone, email, in-person or schedule a reference appointment.
- Course ReservesLook for library materials reserved for your use by your professors.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
- My AccountLog-in to your BSU library account to check item due dates and renew materials.
- FAQs at the University LibrariesFind the answers to frequently asked questions about the University Libraries.
Getting Started
Welcome to the Ball State University Library Guide for African American Studies.
The purpose of this guide is to assist researchers and students who are interested in African American Studies. Please explore the tabs on the left side of the page to see some of the research tools for finding articles, resources, and information pertaining to African American Studies.
Reference Resources Online
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford African American Studies Center provides five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press. Also includes approximately 100 primary source documents with commentaries, 1,000 images with an ongoing image research program, over 200 charts, tables and graphs, maps, timelines, and learning resources for students and teachers.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 200 dictionaries and encyclopedias which may be searched or browsed by subject.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 20 searchable specialized subject encyclopedias and reference books from the Gale publishing company. Use the quick search box below or use the link directly above.
General Reference
These titles and more can be found online through the University Libraries' website.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: Online
Black Women in America by Call Number: OnlineThis encyclopedia focuses on the lives of Black women in the U.S., ranging from the 17th century to contemporary figures.
The Kentucky African American Encyclopedia by Call Number: OnlineThis encyclopedia explores the vibrant history of the Black experience in Kentucky. Included are biographical sketches and noted figures in the arts, sciences, and industry.
Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Online
History
These titles and more can be found online through the University Libraries' website.
Black Firsts: 4,000 Ground-breaking and Pioneering Historical Events by Call Number: OnlineProvides information about famous firsts by African Americans in all areas of life and work.
Freedom Facts and Firsts by Call Number: OnlineA compendium focusing on Black liberation spanning over four hundred years.
Survival Pending Revolution by Call Number: OnlineAn examination of the growth and decline of the Black Panther Party in the U.S.
People & Culture
These titles and more can be found through the University Libraries' website.
Great Lives from History: African AmericansCall Number: General Collection E185.96 .G736 2011 V.1-5Biographies for notable African American figures throughout history, including images and bibliographies.
Black Women's Intellectual Traditions by Call Number: OnlineA critical examination of intellectual and literary work by Black women in the 19th century.
Zora Neale Hurston: A Biography of the Spirit by Call Number: OnlineA biography on the art and spirituality of Zora Neale Hurston.
Arts & Literature
These titles and more can be found through the University Libraries' website.
Contemporary African American Cinema by Call Number: Online
The Columbia Guide to Contemporary African American Fiction by Call Number: OnlineThis handbook outlines authors, texts, and literary movements in African American fiction.
Jean Toomer by Call Number: OnlineThis work examines the journalistic output of Jean Toomer, unpublished versions of his autobiography, and his political and intellectual connections to socialism.
The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature by Call Number: OnlineA collection of biographies focusing on African American authors, critics, and historical figures.
American Slavery: a Historical Exploration of Literature by Call Number: OnlineExamines slavery in the U.S. through the lens of 19th century literature.
Civil Rights
Freedom Riders by Call Number: E185.61 .A69 2006
A More Beautiful and Terrible History by Call Number: E185.61 .T44 2018
We Will Shoot Back by Call Number: E185.93.M6 U46 2013
Groundwork by Call Number: E185.61 .G899 2005
Sisters in the Struggle by Call Number: E185.61 .S615 2001
Black Against Empire by Call Number: E185.615 .B5574 2013
Captive Nation by Call Number: HV9469 .B467 2014
