LibGuides: THEA 325: Dramaturgy (Smith): Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources for commentary, criticism, discussion

These databases are linked from the Ball State University Libraries' Databases page.

America: History & Life with Full Text
Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 19th century to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains full text for the top performing arts journals. The database covers dance and related topics such as film, drama, and comedy.
Description: The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains full text for the top performing arts journals. The database covers dance and related topics such as film, drama, comedy, mimes, and puppetry.
Time Period: 1980's to present
Sources: Indexes more than 420 periodicals and provides the full text for nearly 400 titles and and an additional 370 book titles.
Subject Headings: Humanities, Music
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
JSTOR
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Project MUSE
Full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics.
Description: Project Muse is a full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from JSTOR, in PDF format.
Time Period: 1993 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 300 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles
OneSearch
A tool that cross searches the content of most of our databases, including descriptions of our library titles and many other sources. You can search many collections in one search box, simplifying the resource discovery process.
Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books