Discussion Board - A Common Misperception - SPCE 680: Introduction to Persons with Autism Spectrum Disorders

What you need to do...

Blue box with text: Discussion Board - A Common Misperception The "research part" of this assignment:

"You will need to conduct a literature search and identify a research article that has been published since 2005 that discusses a common misperception related to autism....Students may not select the MMR vaccine or the gluten free diet as a topic."

Choose your database

For this topic, PsycINFO (with its psychology focus) will likely be your best choice. Though if you want to examine misconceptions related to autism as it's seen in the classroom, ERIC (the education index) would be better. Try both!

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Time Period: 1887 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: American Psychological Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Mobile, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: U.S. Department of Education
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Choose your topic and search terms

You may have a misperception in mind already, from experience or from previous research you've done. Great! Go with it! Take your topic to a database like PsycINFO or ERIC.

If you need ideas, a search like the following could help you to identify articles which discuss the misperceptions related to autism, so you can choose a misperception for your focus.

You may find an article to discuss in your post using this method, or you may want to get more specific by focusing on a certain misconception.

Consider examining the references referred to in a research article for ideas of other titles to consult.

Place limits on your search

Notice that in ERIC and PsycINFO you can limit your search by date and to journal articles using the links to the left of your search results.

Once you've chosen your article

Once you've chosen an article based on its record in the database you're searching, bring up the full text by either clicking on the PDF or HTML full text link, or clicking on Find It @ Ball State button .

For more information, check out the information at Find the Full Text of an Article.