LibGuides: New York Times All Access: Home

Setting up Your New York Times All Access Account

Setting up your account

Cancel your existing account
Access the New York Times All Access using the link below or on our databases page
Follow the onscreen instructions

New York Times All Access This link opens in a new window
All users must activate their New York Times account and cancel their personal subscription the first time they login. Follow the onscreen instructions or see this video demonstrating the account activation process. If you have difficulty cancelling your personal account contact edu@nytimes.com.
Description: Browse or search the New York Times from 1851 to the current issue. Includes full access to NYTimes.com back to 2002. Older issues (1851-2002) can be viewed with the TimesMachine and include PDF images of original articles with photographs and drawings, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Users have unlimited viewing of the TimesMachine and can download up to 5 issues per day. Also included is exclusive content such as newsletters, podcasts and select NYT games such as Wordle, The Crossword, and Sudoku.

Note: All users must activate their New York Times account the first time they login. Follow the onscreen instructions or see this video demonstrating the account activation process. If you have difficulty cancelling your personal account contact edu@nytimes.com.

Time Period: 1851 to the present
Sources: Contains every issue of the New York Times.
Subject Headings: General, History, News (News)
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Archival Material, News, Reviews,
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: Older issues of the New York Times (1857-2005) are on microfilm in the Periodicals and Microforms Collection, Bracken 1 East. Current issues of the paper are in the Current Periodicals collection, also in Bracken 1 East.
Publisher: New York Times
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Taking Advantage of Your New York Times All Access Subscription workshop recording

What's Included

Your access includes:

All of the games (see their Gameplay community for game hints)
Cooking, with recipes, advice, and ideas
Audio, including exclusive shows and narrated articles
Wirecutter, which has independent reviews and recommendations
The Athletic, with in-depth, personalized, sports coverage

Searching in New York Times All Access

New York Times All Access includes every issue published from 1851 to the present. Issues from 1851-2002 can be viewed with the TimesMachine and include PDF images of the original. Articles from 2003 to present are from the online edition of the New York Times and are not in pdf format. Pre-2003 articles may include the text in HTML format too. You can search either using the New York Times All Access search box or the TimesMachine.

Search Engine vs Times Machine

Both allow access to every issue and everything in it, such as articles, ads, want ads, Radio and TV listings, book reviews etc. Both are loads of fun!

Search engine

Keyword searching only
Can limit to a date range
Searches all years
Older articles can have both PDF and HTML of article text
The search box is at the top of the homepage

TimesMachine

Keyword searching and browsing
Can limit to a date range (Keyword searching only)
Searches 1851-2002
Provides PDF (both keyword and browsing)
Only keyword searching can have both PDF and HTML
Found in the More column at the bottom of the New York Times webpage

Tip: Hitting the End Button on your keyboard will take you to the bottom of the webpage.

New York Times in the Classroom

Our New York Times subscription includes access to InEducation and The Learning Network. Both provide resources that will help sudents with their understanding of current events and the world around them. You will find the links to them in the More column at the bottom of the New York Times homepage.

Tip: Hitting the End Button on your keyboard will take you to the bottom of the webpage.

The Learning Network provides resources for teaching and learning such as lessons, writing prompts, quizzes, etc. while InEducation helps educators and students make the most of NYTimes.com and is designed as a resource to connect Times journalism with key areas of study.