Fundamentals
Recommended Books
In the print Music Collection, books on the fundamentals of music can be found in MT 6, "Music theory. General works," and MT 7, "Rudiments. Elementary works." You can also combine these searches with a keyword, for example, "Fundamentals," to narrow your results. The recommended books below are sorted by their call numbers. Hover over the info icon to see a description of the book.
From Sound to Symbol: Fundamentals of Music by
The ONLY text that uses sound first as a more natural and organic way to learn music theory. Designed for a one-semester musical fundamentals course, From Sound to Symbol: Fundamentals of Music, Second Edition, clearly covers all essential topics, but with a unique, sound-to-symbol approach that explores concepts through the sound of music before explaining how symbols are used. Students actively and methodically explore music by listening, performing, thinking critically, and composing, learning the rudiments of music theory in the process. DISTINCTIVE FEATURES * Examples from folk songs and classical music are simple, memorable, and easy to sing or play. * Activities use different modes of learning (kinesthetic, aural, and visual) to help students understand the fundamentals and apply them to music-making. * The in-text Audio CD includes all the essential melodies from the book, examples of chord functions and harmonic progressions, and exercises to develop singing skills. * The in-text Skills CD provides tutorials for chapter review, theory exercise drills, and dictation exercises. * A folded, laminated keyboard is included at the back of the text.
Call Number: MT6 .H598 2012Publication Date: 2012
Understand Music Theory by
Enjoy music even more by understanding the theory behind it. Suitable for complete beginners and assuming no previous experience, each chapter in Understand Music Theory includes diagrams, examples, clear explanations, helpful hints, and self-tests. With results that will get readers enjoying their music even more, this is an invaluable guide to understanding music theory.
Call Number: MT6 .R53 2010Publication Date: 2010
Music Fundamentals: A Balanced Approach by
Music Fundamentals is written for students who want to learn the basics of music. Keeping in mind the student with very little or no prior knowledge of music, musical concepts are reinforced by numerous examples including global music, along with a comprehensive website for students to practice their knowledge, and a CD with audio examples. The music examples range from Stevie Wonder songs to Beethoven symphonies, from rhythmically challenging African songs and syncopated Brazilian choro songs, to humorous Filipino ballads and Schubert lieder. Features: a variety of exercises to help the student transform knowledge into practice, including: listen and sing exercises for ear training; keyboard drills to be played on a real keyboard or piano, or the keyboard insert provided in the inside cover; and clapping and counting exercises so that students not only have a cerebral understanding, but also a visceral feeling for pulse and rhythm review exercises at the end of each module facilitate progress to the next module, including: cultural notes which discuss musical genres or place musical examples in a cultural context; historical notes which place material in an historical context; and vocabulary notes to discuss musical signs or terms, providing contextual background and giving students a richer appreciation and understanding of musical concepts an instructor's manual offers suggestions for classroom exercises. The Companion Website offers a variety of student and instructor resources, including interactive tutorials, additional appendices, and an instructor's manual that offers tips on using the book and more.
Call Number: MT6 .T133 2010Publication Date: 2010
Basic Music Theory: How to Read, Write, and Understand Written Music by
Both beginners and players needing to polish their music-reading skills will benefit from Harnum's easy-to-understand -approach.
Call Number: MT6.H37 B37 2009Publication Date: 2009
All About Music Theory: A Fun and Simple Guide to Understanding Music by
If you wish there was a fun and engaging way to help you understand the fundamentals of music, then this is it. Whether it's learning to read music, understanding chords and scales, musical forms, or improvising and composing, this enjoyable guide will help you to finally start understanding the structure and design of music. This fun-filled, easy-to-use guide includes: * Music notation * Scales and modes * Melody harmonization and counterpoint * Chord progressions * Song form and structure Listen and learn with the 90 tracks of online audio, available for download or streaming, including over 50 popular songs such as: Beauty and the Beast * Candle in the Wind * Imagine * In the Air Tonight * Killing Me Softly with His Song * Let It Be * Message in a Bottle * Misty * Satin Doll * Take the 'A' Train * Unchained Melody * What'd I Say * and more!
Call Number: MT6.H278 A44 2009Publication Date: 2009
Music Theory: A Practical Guide for All Musicians by
Get the rock-solid fundamentals of rhythm, pitch, and harmony with this easy-to-use book/audio pack. Learn the universal language used by all musicians, regardless of instrument. Includes concise, detailed explanations, illustrations and written exercises with access to online full recordings of examples and practice drills. This book will teach you how to: construct scales, chords and intervals * identify major and minor key centers and common chord progressions * accurately play various rhythm feels and figures * learn the basic principles of form and compositional analysis.
Call Number: MT6.T126 M987 2006Publication Date: 2006
Music Fundamentals: An Introduction by
Music Fundamentals: An Introduction is perfect for any introductory music course. It outlines the basics of music in an easy to understand format and provides a hands on learning approach. Music Fundamentals: An Introduction clarifies the processes for students by providing step by step instructions for mastering each concept. It includes games that allow for hands-on learning and application of the concepts. It provides worksheets which give teachers access to ready-made materials.
Call Number: MT7 .M39 2009Publication Date: 2009
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.