General Resources
New to music research? Consider starting at the Music History Research Guide where you will learn strategies for finding and utilizing reference sources, books, articles, scores, audio, and other formats available from University Libraries.
Print Reference and General Works
The following books explore diversity broadly and across its distinctions of race and ethnicity, gender and sexuality, and ability. There is, unfortunately, not one call number where books can be located on library shelves. Instead, for additional resources, try keyword searches which include terms like diversity, difference, race, gender, feminism, or another term specific to the type of diversity you are researching. Also take note of influential scholars like Susan McClary and Marcia J. Citron as well as others active in the so called "New Musicology."
Feminine Endings: Music, Gender, and Sexuality (Print and eBook) by
When it was originally published in 1991, Feminine Endings was immediately controversial for its unprecedented intermingling of cultural criticism and musical studies, an approach that came to be called "the New Musicology." The now classic work features a new introduction that discusses the critical reception it received and the debates it has inspired.
Call Number: ML82 .M38 1990 and JSTOR BooksPublication Date: 2002
Race and Gender in the Western Music History Survey: A Teacher's Guide by
Race and Gender in the Western Music History Survey: A Teacher's Guide provides concrete information and approaches that will help instructors include women and people of color in the typical music history survey course and the foundational music theory classes. This book provides a reconceptualization of the principles that shape the decisions instructors should make when crafting the syllabus. It offers new perspectives on canonical composers and pieces that take into account musical, cultural, and social contexts where women and people of color are present. Secondly, it suggests new topics of study and pieces by composers whose work fits into a more inclusive narrative of music history. A thematic approach parallels the traditional chronological sequencing in Western music history classes.
Call Number: ML193 .M39 2022Publication Date: 2022
Singing Down the Barriers: A Guide to Centering African American Song for Concert Performers by
Never has there been a more urgent time to foster cultural humility, diversity, and community dialogue while addressing systemically exclusionary teaching practices in vocal music. Singing Down the Barriers offers readers from all ethnic backgrounds a space in which to better understand the historical and cultural barriers to researching, programming, and performing repertoire by composers from the African diaspora. Emery Stephens and Caroline Helton present a pedagogical guide for singers, singing teachers, students, and administrators that will assist not only with programming but also in creating sustainable, brave spaces for critical conversations on race, equity, and American music.
Call Number: ML3556 .S866 2023Publication Date: 2023
Western Music and Its Others: Difference, Representation, and Appropriation in Music by
This innovative collection of articles offers a major comprehensive overview of new developments in cultural theory as applied to Western music. Addressing a broad range of primarily twentieth-century music, the authors examine two related phenomena: musical borrowings or appropriations, and how music has been used to construct, evoke, or represent difference of a musical or a sociocultural kind. Written by leading scholars from disciplines including historical musicology, sociology, ethnomusicology, anthropology, popular music studies, and film studies, the essays provide unprecedented insights into how cultural identities and differences are constructed in music.
Call Number: ML3795 .W45 2000Publication Date: 2000
Musicology and Difference: Gender and Sexuality in Music Scholarship by
Addressing Western and non-Western music, composers from Francesca Caccini to Charles Ives, and musical communities from twelfth-century monks to contemporary opera queens, these essays explore questions of gender and sexuality. Musicology and Difference brings together some of the freshest and most challenging voices in musicology today on a question of importance to all the humanistic disciplines.
Call Number: ML3838 .M96 1993Publication Date: 1993
Gender and the Musical Canon by
Why is music composed by women so marginal to the standard 'classical' repertoire? In attempting to answer this fundamental question, this book examines the practices and attitudes that have led to the exclusion of women composers from the received 'canon' of performed musical works. Focusing on the tradition since 1800, Marcia J. Citron makes substantial use of feminist and interdisciplinary theory. After introducing the notion of canon and its role in cultural discourse, she explores important elements of canon formation: creativity, professionalism, music as gendered discourse, and reception. A final chapter provides a critique of many of these ideas with respect to the canon of the university music history curriculum. Professor Citron shows how an understanding of canon formation illuminates some of the basic issues that affect the discipline as a whole.
Call Number: ML3890 .C58 1993Publication Date: 1993
Expanding the Music Theory Canon: Inclusive Examples for Analysis from the Common Practice Period by
Featuring music by sixty-seven historical women and/or people of color, Expanding the Music Theory Canon is designed to supplement any introductory Western classical music theory curriculum. At a time when many academics are focused on increasing diversity and inclusion, this book provides the means to seamlessly incorporate works by underrepresented composers into music theory core courses. The anthology's 255 musical examples are organized topically and include excerpts as well as nineteen complete pieces for analysis. All musical examples in the anthology have been classroom-tested with music majors and minors at a major conservatory, at private and public universities, and at community colleges.
Call Number: MT91 .M38 2023Publication Date: 2023
Rethinking Difference in Music Scholarship (eBook) by
Two decades after the publication of several landmark scholarly collections on music and difference, musicology has largely accepted difference-based scholarship. This collection of essays by distinguished contributors is a major contribution to this field, covering the key issues and offering an array of individual case studies and methodologies. It also grapples with the changed intellectual landscape since the 1990s. Criticism of difference-based knowledge has emerged from within and outside the discipline, and musicology has had to confront new configurations of difference in a changing world. This book addresses these and other such challenges in a wide-ranging theoretical introduction that situates difference within broader debates over recognition and explores alternative frameworks, such as redistribution and freedom. Voicing a range of perspectives on these issues, this collection reveals why differences and similarities among people matter for music and musical thought.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2015
Voices for Change in the Classical Music Profession: New Ideas for Tackling Inequalities and Exclusions (eBook) by
How is the classical music industry responding to the challenges of #MeToo, Black Lives Matter, and other social justice movements? Is increasing attention to equity and diversity in the classical music profession over recent years leading to systemic change? In this book, scholars, activists and musicians from countries across Europe and North America analyze inequalities in the classical music profession and introduce strategies for making change. Exploring racism, class and gender inequalities, disability representation, "authenticity", changing the canon, and neoliberalism, the book brings together analyses from academics alongside contributions from musicians and industry leaders working in the classical music industry who reflect on issues of diversity and share insights and best practices.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central and Oxford Scholarship OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.