Related Guides and Videos
Research & Teaching Services Librarian
Article and Book Databases
The databases below will help you find articles for your research. They also include a couple really important journals which contain particularly good literature reviews. You can search them from within ERIC(EBSCOhost). Here are links to their home pages.
-
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis database is essential to education research. It indexes more than 1,200 journals in the field of education, most of which are not included in JSTOR. Article records in this database use ERIC descriptors (that is. subject headings) which allow you to make more precise and relevant searches using the keyword to subject strategy (Video demonstration of this process).
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowIncludes the text of articles from nearly 200 journals in the field of education many of which are not indexed in ERIC. Articles do not have subject headings, so the keyword to subject strategy is not possible there. Also, may not have the most issues of publications.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowDespite its name, this database covers topics in social sciences and humanities too. You can discover articles from high quality journals and track article citations. You can see what articles have cited the article you are looking at. The articles that cited that article may be of interest too.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis database will be helpful when researching topics related to psychology. Some article records have two separate subject heading fields, one is labeled Subjects and the other is labeled Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). You might consider mapping both sets of subject headings to your search terms.
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowAlthough this is the Ball State University Libraries catalog, it will also help you find articles and other materials in addition to books. Look on the results list for the Cited by button, it will tell you what other articles cite it. The Cites button tells you what articles an article cites. There are also links to Web of Science records for the article which will also tell you what articles have cited the article. Can limit to peer reviewed and scholarly and also limit to journal articles (see the Content Type facet in the left column of the results list).
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat will help you discover books in library's from around the world. It also has a convenient link in its book records which will allow you borrow books from other libraries.
Tip: Use the "rank by" drop down box on the search page to improve relevance of result lists. Change the "rank by" setting from "number of libraries" to "relevance." This setting can be found near the bottom of the search page in WorldCat.
Books on Wrting a Literature Review
Books found in the Ball State University Libraries. Distance Education Students may either borrower the book through their local library or from our library. You will have to pay shipping costs if you use our interlibrary loan service to borrow books from us. Note: The links below are to our catalog record for the book.