LibGuides: Video and Multimedia: Streaming Video from the Library

Library Video Databases

In addition to a large collection of DVD's which can be borrowed in the Education, Music, and Media area, the Ball State University Libraries also provides access to video through a number of databases. This guide brings together, in one place, those and many other video sources available to Ball State University Students, Faculty, and Staff.

Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.
Description: Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.

Note: Creating a profile allows you to access your Dashboard, where you can create and share a watch list. Here's how you do it, see Creating a Kanopy account near the bottom of the page. Also, Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Time Period:
Sources: Select from more than 30,000 films.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Streaming Video
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Kanopy
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Folkstreams This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 300 films by independent film makers on wide range of topics.
Description: The Folkstreams database provides access to more than 300 films from independent film makers on a wide range of topics. Topics includes African American Culture, arts and crafts, dress, ethnic and immigrant cultures, healing and medicine, religion, and social justice. The database partners are: iBiblio.com, The University of North Carolina, and The Southern Folklife Collection. See the Film Rights link within the database for information about classroom usage.
Time Period: 1946 to present
Sources: Contains more than 300 films.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Folkstreams Inc.
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
OnArchitecture This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 200 videos as well as photos. The content focuses on trends in architecture around the world.
Description:OnArchitecture is an audiovisual database which focuses on the main trends in architecture around the world. Videos include interviews with architects, editors, and curators. The database has photos of buildings and short articles about them and their architects.
Time Period: 2007 to present
Sources: Contains more than 200 videos.
Subject Headings: Architecture
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Images, Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher:
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Art and Architecture Video Online (North America) This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video is a database with more than 500 hours of documentaries and interviews related to modern and contemporary architecture as well as other periods.
Description: Art and Architecture in Video is a database with more than 500 hours of documentaries and interviews related to modern and contemporary architecture as well as other periods. The videos include searchable transcripts and tables of contents which allow easy access to specific points in the streaming video.
Time Period: From earliest times to present
Sources: Contains more than 640 videos.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume 2 This link opens in a new window
An online collection of 340 videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Description: An online collection of video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Browse by therapy types and search by client and therapist details such as patient ethnicity or therapist name. The database also has searchable video transcripts.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Contains more than 350 videos
Subject Headings: Psychology, Social Sciences (Social Work, Psychotherapy, Psychology, Psychiatric Counseling)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains 12,037 videos, with more than 900 hours of dance performances, instructional content, and documentaries.
Description: Dance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Time Period:
Sources:
Subject Headings: General, Humanities, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
The C-SPAN Video Library provides access to hundreds of thousands of hours of C-SPAN video. Individual video transcripts are searchable and provide video clips containing your search terms. You can also search for bills from 1980 to the present.
Description: The C-SPAN Video Library provides access to hundreds of thousands of hours of C-SPAN video. Individual video transcripts are searchable and provide video clips containing your search terms. You can also search for bills from 1980 to the present.
Time Period: 20th century to present
Sources: Hundreds of thousands of hours of video.
Subject Headings: General, Humanities, Law, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Legal Materials, News, Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher:
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository

Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository includes thousands of digitized videos. You can browse the video collections or search the entire repository for all types of materials. Here are links to a few of the more than 20 video collections in the Digital Media Repository.

Protesters as George Wallace arrives on campus. Screen capture from George Wallace's arrival at Ball State Teachers College and protests on campus.