LibGuides: Fiction Criticism: Home

Welcome!

In this guide, you will find library resources to help you research fiction and short story criticism.

Use the tabs to navigate through the guide.

Library Services

Ask a Librarian
Contact a librarian by chat, phone, email, in-person or schedule a reference appointment.
FAQs at the University Libraries
Find the answers to frequently asked questions about the University Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan
Request a book, article, or another item not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
My Account
Log-in to your BSU library account to check item due dates and renew materials.

Library Databases

Literature Criticism Online
Description: Literature Criticism Online provides access to scholarly and popular commentary from books and periodicals, broadsheets, pamphlets, and encyclopedias published in Gale literary criticism titles. Content is delivered in an online format that matches the print originals.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Contains articles and reviews from more than 1,100 volumes of literary criticism.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Magazine Articles, Reference Resources
Literature Resource Center
Description: Literature Resource Center is a great source for background information on major authors and their works. It includes biographies and basic literary criticism of the works of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Consider using in conjunction with Literature Criticism Online.
Time Period: 1973 to present
Sources: Indexes or contains the full text of more than 480 magazines or journals and 42 reference titles.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities
JSTOR
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Description: Specialized database of books, articles, dissertations, and other materials about Shakespeare's life and works.
Time Period: 1964-present
Sources:
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities (Literature)
Primary Materials: Journal articles, books, dissertations, reviews, etc.