What are reference resources?
"Reference resources" are information resources that are intended to be read a portion at a time, as needed. Encyclopedias and dictionaries are great examples. When you want to find an explanation of an unfamiliar concept, you can look it up in an encyclopedia or dictionary, read the part that is about the concept, and then set the encyclopedia or dictionary aside until you need it again.
The reference resources chosen for this page are good places to find background information about literature or the life sciences. The former might be of use for students working on a literary/cultural analysis or pedagogy essay, and the latter for students who have chosen the creative work option.
Reference resources exist in print and electronic formats. Location information and call numbers are provided for printed reference resources below, so that you may find them on the shelf.
Which search terms to use?
Searching for background information in reference resources usually does not require as many search terms as looking for sources in a journal article database. One or two search terms will do. A researcher interested in depictions of natural settings in American literature might try any of the following searches:
Nature AND American literature
Wilderness AND American fiction
Ecology AND American literature
Some of the electronic resources on this page will have a single text box for your search terms. To use multiplie terms, connect them with the word "AND." Other resources on this page will have a list of topics that you can browse, or in the case of printed materials a back-of-the-book index.
Reference databases
These two databases are collections of encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. Both are multi-topic. Gale eBooks tends to include sources that are a few pages in length, whereas ORO's content tends be a few paragraphs in length.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Gale EBOOKS is a collection of searchable subject encyclopedias and reference books from Gale Publishing and many other publishers.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Searchable and browsable collection of highly trusted reference books. Dictionaries and encyclopedias in Oxford Reference Online include general works, foreign-language works, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Individual reference works for researching the natural world in literature
These are individual reference works about literature that depicts the natural world. If you are seeking background information on this subject but don't find what you need here, see this guide's help and tips page to get in touch with a librarian. Reference works about the environment, the natural sciences, and other topics are listed below.
The Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Environment by
The Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Environment is an authoritative guide to the exciting new interdisciplinary field of environmental literary criticism. The collection traces the development of ecocriticism from its origins in European pastoral literature and offers fifteen rigorous but accessible essays on the present state of environmental literary scholarship. Contributions from leading experts in the field probe a range of issues, including the place of the human within nature, ecofeminism and gender, engagements with European philosophy and the biological sciences, critical animal studies, postcolonialism, posthumanism, and climate change. A chronology of key publications and bibliography provide ample resources for further reading, making The Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Environment an essential guide for students, teachers, and scholars working in this rapidly developing area of study.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection PN98.E36 C36 2014Publication Date: 2013
American Nature Poets (Dictionary of Literary Biography, Vol. 342) by
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection PS129 .D5 v. 342ISBN: 9780787681609Publication Date: 2008
Twentieth Century American Nature Writers: Prose (Dictionary of Literary Biography, Vol. 275) by
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection PS129 .D5 v. 275Publication Date: 2003
Some books (that is, not reference works) about nature and the environment in literature are listed on the books page of this guide.
Individual reference works about other topics
These are individual reference works relevant to the various topics chosen by yourself and your classmates. The list is not exhaustive, so if you need an encyclopedia or similar resource about your topic but don't find one here, see this guide's help and tips page to get in touch with a librarian.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by
First used in 1980, "biodiversity" often describes the abundance, variety, and genetic constitution of native animals and plants, and has been linked with politics and environmental technology. Although the 1986 National forum on biodiversity brought issues of biodiversity to the fore, the inescapable need to know more about the diversity of life on Earth continues to remain unmet. In recent years, biodiversity has influenced important scientific considerations, international agreements, conventions, conservation initiatives, political debates, and socio-economic implications. Knowledge derived from the study of biodiversity will affect the quality of life enjoyed in the future by influencing decision-making processes and aiding new discoveries. The science of biodiversity has become the science of our future. Our awareness of the loss of biodiversity has brought a long overdue appreciation of the magnitude of our loss and a determination to develop the tools to protect our future. The Encyclopedia of Biodiversity brings together, for the first time, a study of the dimensions of diversity. It examination of the services biodiversity provides, and measures to protect it. Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection QH541.15.B56 E53 2001Publication Date: 2001
A Dictionary of Climate Change and the Environment by
A Dictionary of Climate Change and the Environment bridges the gap between the many disciplines encompassing climate change, environmental economics, environmental sciences, and environmental studies.It defines a comprehensive set of over 3700 words used across these fields to help policy makers, students, and professionals achieve a holistic view of environmental issues. The Dictionary also features: introductory primers to major topic areas; recommended reading for particular topics and specific words or concepts; and seven appendices, including a catalog of scientific symbols, units, and conversions, as well as an expansive listing and description of selected environmental treaties. The extensive and accessible nature of the content renders this book an indispensable reference for practitioners requiring an informed and balanced description of key concepts and issues.This resource will be extremely valuable to policymakers and professionals working on climate change and other environmental issues, and to postgraduate and undergraduate students in climate change and environmental studies, as well as to academics and other practitioners working on multidisciplinary environmental issues outside their areas of expertise.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection HC79.E5 D52 2012Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The five volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather, they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection HM856 .E53 2007Publication Date: 2007
The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology by
The first_and only_source to integrate the multiple disciplines and professions exploring the many ways people interact with the natural and designed environments in which we live. Comprising more than 250 informative entries, The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology examines the interdisciplinary and complex topic of human ecology. Knowledge gathered from disciplines that study individuals and groups is blended with information about the environment from the fields of family science, geography, anthropology, urban planning, and environmental science. At the same time, professions intended to enhance individual and family life_marriage and family therapy, clinical psychology, social work, dietetic and other health professions_are represented alongside those concerned with the preservation, conservation, and management of the environment and its resources. How rampant are eating disorders among our youth? Are AIDS educational programs effective? What problems do adolescents transitioning into adulthood encounter? Here, four leading scholars in the field have assembled a team of top-tier psychologists, sociologists, anthropologists, and other experts to explore these and hundreds of other timely issues. 250+ entries on topics such as eating disorders, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, peer group relations, and transitioning to young adulthood A diverse group of contributors from the fields of architecture, biology, geology, sociology, psychology, urban planning, and more Illustrations and photographs to enhance the coverage Biographies of major people in the field
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection GF4 .E53 2003Publication Date: 2003
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues by
From Argentina to Zimbabwe, the industrialized world's encroachment on native lands has brought disastrous environmental harm to indigenous peoples. More than 170 native peoples around the world are facing life-and-death struggles to maintain environments threatened by oil spills, explosions, toxic chemicals, global warming, and other pollutants. This unique resource surveys those indigenous peoples and the environmental hazards that threaten their existence, providing a wealth of information not readily available elsewhere. Arranged geographically, each entry focuses on the peoples of a particular country and the environmental issues they face, from the global warming and toxic chemicals threatening the Arctic Inuits, to the logging that is devastating indigenous habitats in Borneo. General entries overview such topics as climate change, dam sites, and Native American Concepts of Ecology. The 'Guide to Related Topics' and index provide access to recurring themes such as deforestation, hydroelectric power, mining, and land tenure.
Call Number: General Collection, General Collection GF50 .J65 2003Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Second Edition by
The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change. Thus, a new, Second Edition updates more than half of the original entries and adds new perspectives and content to keep students and researchers up-to-date in a field that has proven provocatively lively.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection QC981.8.G56 E47 2012Publication Date: 2012
Endangered Animals by
Explore the multiple issues that surround species declines and conservation efforts through the only reference source to examine the conflicting conservation issues of 49 endangered species. While the causes of endangerment are relatively easy to understand, the ultimate or underlying factors are often far more complex and difficult to address. An introduction to these issues and how to resolve them is provided in this unique collection of case studies of animal species that have been pushed to the brink of extinction. Each case study provides the following information: - Common name - Scientific name - Order - Family - Status - Threats - Habitat - Distribution - Natural history - Conflicting Issues - Future and Prognosis. Conservationists are increasingly recognizing that the ultimate causes of extinction are primarily socio-economic and political, yet biological approaches to recovery continue to dominate. More inclusive, interdisciplinary conservation programs are explored here to offer better prospects for managing problems and conflicts. In addition to the case studies, trends and common themes are explored to provide a comprehensive, interdisciplinary approach to conservation. Students and teachers can explore a wide variety of endangered species programs and the conflicting issues common to recovery efforts, which will enable them to evaluate conservation practice and to draw their own conclusions for improvement.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection QL82 .E55 2000Publication Date: 2000
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative reference dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. Offering a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history, it has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals and as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. In this new edition, every single entry has been reviewed and updated with reference to new developments and publications. Coverage has been expanded to reflect new technological, global and academic developments, with particular attention to areas such as online and distance learning, teacher and learner cognition, testing, assessment and evaluation, global English and teacher education. Themes and disciplines covered include: Methods and materials, including new technologies and materials development Contexts and concepts, such as mediation, risk-taking in language learning and intercomprehension Influential figures from the early days of language teaching to the contemporary Related disciplines, such as psychology, anthropology and corpus linguistics　 It covers the teaching of specific languages, including Japanese, Chinese, Arabic and African languages, as well as English, French, German and Spanish. There are thirty five overview articles dealing with issues such as communicative language teaching, early language learning, teacher education and syllabus and curriculum design. A further 160 entries focus on topics such as bilingualism, language laboratories and study abroad. Numerous shorter items examine language and cultural institutions, professional associations and acronyms. Multiple cross-references enable the user to browse from one entry to another, and there are suggestions for further reading. Written by an international team of specialists, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an invaluable resource and reference manual for anyone with a professional or academic interest in the subject.
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection P51 .R66 2013Publication Date: 2012
The Encyclopedia of Alien Encounters by
What happened at Roswell in 1947? What is the Air Force doing out at Area 51? Is the truth really out there and
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection BF2050 .B35 2000ISBN: 0816042268Publication Date: 2000
Science Fiction: The Illustrated Encyclopedia by
...one of the best and most comprehensive books ever done on the subject... -- Arthur C. Clarke, CBE...highly recommended. --Booklist -- An YALSA/ALA Best Book for Young Adults -- NYPL Office of YA Services 1996 Books for the Teen Age
Call Number: Bracken Library, General Collection PN3433.4 .C57 1995Publication Date: 1995
