What are reference resources?
"Reference resources" are information resources that are intended to be read a portion at a time, as needed. Encyclopedias and dictionaries are great examples. When you want to find an explanation of an unfamiliar concept, you can look it up in an encyclopedia or dictionary, read the part that is about the concept, and then set the encyclopedia or dictionary aside until you need it again.
The reference resources on this page are good places to find background information about the Gothic, Gothic motifs, monsters, and supernatural beings.
Which search terms to use?
Searching for background information in reference resources usually does not require as many search terms as looking for sources in a journal article database. One or two search terms will do; to use two or more, connect them with the word "AND." A researcher interested in vampire tales and legends might try any of the following searches:
Vampires
Vampires AND characteristics
Vampires AND motifs
Some of the resources on this page are electronic, and you can type your (one or two) terms into their search box. The information they contain tends to be alphabetized, so you can also browse them to find information on your topic.
Other encyclopedias are available in print. You can search for them in OneSearch using one or two search terms, as described below. They tend to be organized alphabetically too, and are also likely to have a back-of-the-book index.
Reference databases - the Gothic
These three databases are collections encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, etc. All are potentially useful for researching the Gothic. Gale eBooks tends to include sources that are a few pages in length, whereas Oxford Reference Online's content tends be a few paragraphs in length. Oxford Bibliographies Online features expertly curated bibliographies on a number of topics relevant to literature and other subjects.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Gale EBOOKS is a collection of searchable subject encyclopedias and reference books from Gale Publishing and many other publishers.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Searchable and browsable collection of highly trusted reference books. Dictionaries and encyclopedias in Oxford Reference Online include general works, foreign-language works, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Bibliographies Online contains annotated bibliographies on more than 750 subjects related to communication, media studies, cinema, British and American literature, ecology, environmental science, and evolutionary biology. Some annotations are for online sources and provide links to those sources. Where the full text is not available, click on "Find this resource."
Individual reference works for researching creatures depicted in Gothic fiction
Certainly if you will write a creative work, and possibly if you will write a literary analysis essay, pedagogical essay, or create a multimodal project, you might need to find background information about supernatural beings of the sort depicted in Gothic fiction.
These are individual online reference works about such creatures. The list is not exhaustive, so if you need an encyclopedia or similar resource about your topic, find out on this guide's help and tips page how to get in touch with a librarian.
Writing Monsters by
Monsters are more than things that go bump in the night... Monsters are lurking in the woods, beneath the waves, and within our favorite books, films, and games--and there are good reasons why they appear so often. Monsters are manifestations of our fears and symbols of our society--not to mention they're a lot of fun--but each should serve a purpose and enhance the themes and tension in your fiction. In Writing Monsters, best-selling author Philip Athans uses classic examples from books, films, and the world around us to explore what makes monsters memorable--and terrifying. You'll learn what monsters can (and should) represent in your story and how to create monsters from the ground up. Writing Monsters includes: In-depth discussions of where monsters come from, what they symbolize, and how to best portray them in fiction Informative overviews of famous monsters, archetypes, and legendary creatures A Monster Creation Form to help you create your monster from scratch An annotated version of H.P. Lovecraft's chilling story "The Unnamable" Whether you write fantasy, science fiction, or horror, your vampires, ghouls, aliens, and trolls need to be both compelling and meaningful. With Writing Monsters, you can craft creatures that will wreak havoc in your stories and haunt your readers' imaginations--and nightmares.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of the Vampire by
An exhaustive work covering the full range of topics relating to vampires, including literature, film and television, and folklore. * Nearly 240 A-Z entries on all aspects of vampirism * Photographs and illustrations of vampire films, television shows, and other matters relating to vampires * Brief bibliographies referring the reader to secondary sources on individual entries * A general bibliography of scholarship on vampires
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780313378348Publication Date: 2010-11-04
The Vampire Book: Encyclopedia of the Undead by
This reference presents vampire lore and legends from around the world, with coverage of the historical, literary, mythological, biographical and popular aspects of the vampire figure. It gives an alphabetical list of definitions of terms, descriptions of places and biographies of vampires (fictional and allegedly real), along with the actors who have portrayed them and the authors who created them. There are also descriptions of vampire appearances in different cultures and other topics, such as sexuality) associated with vampires. Many of the illustrations in the text are taken from the files of the Vampire Studies Society.
Call Number: General Collection GR830.V3 M44 1999Publication Date: 1999
The Encyclopedia of Ghosts and Spirits by
The Encyclopedia of Ghosts and Spirits, Third Edition includes more than 600 fascinating entries about ghosts, hauntings, related paranormal phenomenon, the people who investigate them, and the key theories about what causes them. Widely regarded as the definitive reference in the field, this encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage written in an engaging style. Paranormal expert Rosemary Ellen Guiley has compiled extensive research on the most current theories about what causes ghosts and the many new haunting cases documented since publication of the second edition. The third edition has been substantially updated with the addition of more than 130 new entries, more than 20 new black-and-white photographs, and an updated foreword by Troy Taylor, author and founder of the American Ghost Society. Many entries include bibliographical listings for further reading.
Call Number: General Collection BF1461 .G85 2000Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Witchcraft by
The definitive compilation on witchcraft and witch hunting in the early modern era exploring significant people, places, beliefs, and events. Encyclopedia of Witchcraft: The Western Tradition is the definitive reference on the age of witch hunting (approximately 1430-1750), its origins, expansion, and ultimate decline. Incorporating a wealth of recent scholarship in four richly illustrated, alphabetically organized volumes, it offers historians and general readers alike the opportunity to explore the realities behind the legends of witchcraft and witchcraft trials. Over 170 contributors from 28 nations provide vivid, documented descriptions and analyses of witchcraft trials and locations, folklore and beliefs, magical practices and deities, influential texts, and the full range of players in this extraordinary drama--witchcraft theorists and theologians; historians and authors; judges, clergy, and rulers; the accused; and their persecutors. Concentrating on Europe and the Americas in the early modern era, the work also covers relevant topics from the ancient Near East (including the Hebrew and Christian Bibles), classical antiquity, and the European Middle Ages. Over 750 A-Z signed entries More than 170 contributors include the most distinguished scholars working in the field of witchcraft studies Illustrations and artwork, including prints, drawings, paintings, and maps Extensive end-of-entry references
Call Number: General Collection BF1566 .E56 2006 v. 1-4Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Demons in World Religions and Cultures by
This exhaustive volume catalogs nearly three thousand demons in the mythologies and lore of virtually every ancient society and most religions. From Aamon, the demon of life and reproduction with the head of a serpent and the body of a wolf in Christian demonology, to Zu, the half-man, half-bird personification of the southern wind and thunder clouds in Sumero-Akkadian mythology, entries offer descriptions of each demon's origins, appearance and cultural significance. Also included are descriptions of the demonic and diabolical members making up the hierarchy of Hell and the numerous species of demons that, according to various folklores, mythologies, and religions, populate the earth and plague mankind. Very thoroughly indexed.
Call Number: General Collection BF1503 .B346 2012Publication Date: 2012
Giants, Monsters, and Dragons by
A richly illustrated encyclopedia that describes individual beings in their cultural context, grouping them across cultures and explaining common mythological themes. This illustrated encyclopedia not only identifies and describes individual beasts in their cultural context, but also groups them together across cultures and discusses common mythological strands and conceits. An extensive bibliography and useful appendixes assist further learning for students of all levels. Provides an extensive bibliography Includes useful appendixes that encourage further learning for students at all levels Fully illustrated
Call Number: General Collection GR825 .R67 2000ISBN: 0874369886Publication Date: 2000-06-13
Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, and Goblins: An Encyclopedia of the Little People by
Drawing from ancient and modern folklore, myth, and religion, this reference work delves into the social and anthropological significance of supernatural beings such as angels, demons, dwarfs, encantados, fairies, keremets, nats and nymphs.
Call Number: General Collection GR549 .R65 1996Publication Date: 1996
The Mythical Zoo by
A varied and insightful compendium of animals and the relationships between humans and animals. In this fascinating encyclopedia about animals in world myth, legend, and literature, author Boria Sax documents how profoundly animals and their symbolism are integrated into human values. In the prehistoric cave paintings of France and Spain_the most ancient works of art we have_humans were depicted as stick figures and animals painted with more care and passion. The first clearly religious shrines were dedicated to animals. Later, animals were representative of anything from totems and deities to demons and augurs of witchcraft. Creatures that seem the products of gene splicing between species were the monsters of folklore. Emphasizing depth rather than breadth, The Mythical Zoo covers everything from frogs and grasshoppers to dolphins, salmon, rabbits, and tigers. After a masterful overview, there are about 50 entries with references to literature from a variety of cultures and extensive illustrations ranging from medieval prints to cartoons and advertisements. _ Includes over 50 A_Z conversational entries _ Fully illustrated with a variety of images from medieval prints to editorial cartoons and advertisements _ Weaves together a cross-cultural tapestry encompassing mythology, history, art, science, philosophy, and literature while discussing the special significance of animals in human cultures _ Includes relevant quotes from worldwide texts preceding each entry
Call Number: General Collection GR705 .S344 2001Publication Date: 2001
Mythical Creatures Bible by
Fabulous animals, specters from the shadow world, nature spirits, and sacred beings: these are the monstrous, marvelous, and mythic creatures that have come down to us in folklore and legend. Some probably have their origins in reality; others spring completely from the imagination--and they are all here, in this stunningly illustrated bible. It's rich in history and images, and international in scope, covering dragons and serpents; weird insects like the Aztec Itzpapalotl; zombies, golems, and banshees; the watery Undi≠ the Monkey King, Sun Wukong; and much, much more. A fascinating and informative work.
Call Number: General Collection GR825 .R67 2009Publication Date: 2009Imaginary Animals by Fire-breathing dragons, beautiful mermaids, majestic unicorns, terrifying three-headed dogs--these fantastic creatures have long excited our imagination. Medieval authors placed them in the borders of manuscripts as markers of the boundaries of our understanding. Tales from around the world place these beasts in deserts, deep woods, remote islands, ocean depths, and alternate universes--just out of our reach. And in the sections on the apocalypse in the Bible, they proliferate as the end of time approaches, with horses with heads like lions, dragons, and serpents signaling the destruction of the world. Legends tell us that imaginary animals belong to a primordial time, before everything in the world had names, categories, and conceptual frameworks. In this book, Boria Sax digs into the stories of these fabulous beasts. He shows how, despite their liminal role, imaginary animals like griffins, dog-men, yetis, and more are socially constructed creatures, created through the same complex play of sensuality and imagination as real ones. Tracing the history of imaginary animals from Paleolithic art to their roles in stories such as Harry Potter and even the advent of robotic pets, he reveals that these extraordinary figures help us psychologically--as monsters, they give form to our amorphous fears, while as creatures of wonder, they embody our hopes. Their greatest service, Sax concludes, is to continually challenge our imaginations, directing us beyond the limitations of conventional beliefs and expectations. Featuring over 230 illustrations of a veritable menagerie of fantastical and unreal beasts, Imaginary Animals is a feast for the eyes and the imagination.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1780232136Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters by
This concise encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market. Over 200 entries written by experts in the field are accompanied by an overview introduction by the editor. Generic entries such as 'ghost' and 'vampire' are cross-listed with important specific manifestations of that monster. This book is an invaluable resource for all students and scholars and an essential addition to library reference shelves.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781409425632Publication Date: 2014-01-08
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0787677787Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0787677647Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Folklore by
Written by an international team of acclaimed folklorists, this reference text provides a cross-cultural survey of the major types and methods of inquiry in folklore. Did you know that the tale of Cinderella is over 1,000 years old, and similar versions of this singular story exist in hundreds of cultures around the globe? Have you heard of "deathlore," a subgenre of folklore involving tombstones, coffins, cemeteries, and roadside memorial shrines? Did you realize that UFO sightings and cyber cultures constitute modern folklore? The broad field of folklore studies, developed over the past two centuries, provides significant insights into many aspects of human culture. While the term "folklore" conjures images of ancient practices and beliefs or folk heroes and traditional stories, it also applies to today's ever-changing cultural landscape. Even certain aspects of modern Internet-based popular culture and contemporary rites of passage represent folklore. This encyclopedia covers all the major genres of both ancient and contemporary folklore. This second edition adds more than 100 entries that examine the folklore practices of major ethnic groups, folk heroes, creatures of myth and legend, and emerging areas of interest in folklore studies. Contains contributions from major scholars such as David Leeming, Linda Degh, and Dan Ben-Amos Numerous photographs bring the subject material to life More than 300 entries, each concluding with a bibliography of references Over 50 sidebars provide biographical information on major folklore collectors and scholars
Call Number: General Collection GR35 .F63 2011Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends by
This revised edition of the original reference standard for urban legends provides an updated anthology of common myths and stories, and presents expanded coverage of international legends and tales shared and popularized online. From roasted babies to vanishing hitchhikers to housewives in football helmets, this exhaustive and highly readable encyclopedia provides descriptions of hundreds of individual legends and their variations, examines legend themes, and explains scholarly approaches to the genre. Revised and expanded to include updated versions of the entries from the award-winning first edition, this work provides additional entries on a wide range of new topics that include terrorism, recent political events, and Hurricane Katrina. Entries in Encyclopedia of Urban Legends, Updated and Expanded Edition discuss the presence of urban legends in comic books, literature, film, music, and many other areas of popular culture, as well as the existence of "too good to be true" stories in Argentina, China, Italy, Japan, Mexico, and several other countries. Serving as both an anthology of stories as well as a reference work, this encyclopedia will serve as a valuable resource for students and a source book for journalists, professional folklorists, and others who are researching or interested in urban legends. Approximately 300 individual entries for specific urban legends An introduction provides a brief history of urban legend research A selected bibliography and reference citations
Call Number: General Collection GR105.34 .B78 2012 v. 1-2Publication Date: 2012
Gothic reference websites
This websites are essentially Internet-based reference works on monsters, mythical creatures, and the Gothic.
- The Gothic Archive at Marquette UniversityMarquette's Gothic Archive includes a "Glossary of the Gothic" and PDFs of some Gothic texts.
- British Library: "The Gothic"The British Library's page about the Gothic includes links to short background-style articles about motifs, themes, and literary works.
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic TextsAn online collection of translations and retellings by folklorist and retired professor D.L. Ashliman, hosted by his former employer, the University of Pittsburgh. Includes legends, myths, and fairy tales, many with Gothic overtones.
- The Aberdeen BestiaryThe Aberdeen Bestiary describes real and imaginary animals. It was written in England around the year 1200. This online version is presented by King's College, University of Aberdeen.
Finding more background information in OneSearch
You can use OneSearch, on the University Libraries' homepage, to find additional reference resources in both print and electronic formats. Choose some search terms relevant to your topic or research question and enter them into the OneSearch box.
On the left side of the results page, find the "Content Type" filter. If you see the option "Reference" in the filter, check its box. If "Reference" does not appear among the top four or five options within the filter, type "reference" in the text box above the filter, then check "Reference."
OR 
Electronic items on your list of results will be marked with a "Full Text Online" button. These results are individual articles/entries in encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. You can link to the full text of these articles/entries from OneSearch.
Printed items on your lists of results will be accompanied by location information: One of the campus' four libraries, a collection (or area) within that library, and the item's call number. These results are whole encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. You can locate them on shelf and look up your topics within them.