These are collections of primary source materials. They are useful for finding sources that were published during the historical period you are researching.
The Library of Congress' collection of newspaper content from around the U.S., covering the years 1789 through 1963.
Description:Chronicling America is a digitization project which provides access to historical newspapers and is a collaborative effort of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program. The database also includes a directory of newspaper titles from 1690 to the present which provides basic information about the title such as dates of publication and what libraries have print or microfilm copies of the title. Time Period: 1690 to present Sources: Provides full text for 2,528 newspapers from 1789 to 1963. Subject Headings: History, News, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Popular Primary Materials: Newspaper Articles Information Included: Full Text FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: National Digital Newspaper Program Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
A large book digitization project where you will find historical journal and magazine content, and other kinds of primary sources.
Not demonstrated in class
These resources are digitized archival collections; that is, historical materials that have been photographed or scanned so that they can be searched for and viewed online.
Library of Congress Digital Collections serves as a portal to the 320 plus digital collections of the Library of Congress, providing links to each collection's home page. The collections include a wide range of materials such as books, collected papers, sheet music, images, and web archives.
Description: Library of Congress Digital Collections serves as a portal to the 320 plus digital collections of the Library of Congress, providing links to each collection's home page. The collections include a wide range of materials such as books, collected papers, sheet music, images, and web archives. Time Period: 1490 to 21st century Sources: Contains more than 1.15 million items. Subject Headings: History, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Images, Archival Materials, Audio, Books/ eBooks, Videos Information Included: Full Text FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Library of Congress Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
The entire run of the New York Times from 1851 through 2014. It is only one newspaper, but it was the United States' paper of record for much of that time.
Description: Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 3 years prior to the current year. Includes PDF images of original articles with photographs and drawings, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Note: An additional year of content is added annually. Time Period: 1851 to 3 years ago Sources: 1 Subject Headings: General, History, News (News) Scholarly or Popular: Popular Primary Materials: Archival Material, News, Reviews Information Included: Full Text FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: Older issues of the New York Times (1857-2005) are on microfilm in the Periodicals and Microforms Collection, Bracken 1 East. Current issues of the paper are in the Current Periodicals collection, also in Bracken 1 East. Publisher: ProQuest Information & Learning Updates: NA Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
A collection of historical newspaper content featuring African American newspapers from throughout the U.S. and general readership newspapers from Indiana.
Description: Cross search or browse the content of nearly 300 Indiana and U.S. historical newspapers. You will find articles, eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and more. Time Period: 1817 to 1922 Sources: Contains the full text of nearly 300 historical U.S. newspapers. Subject Headings: History, News, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Popular Primary Materials: Archival Material, Citations, Legal Materials, Maps, News, Other Information Included: Full Text,Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: NewsBank Updates: NA Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Women and Social Movements in the United States provides access to an online journal of the same name, a chronology of U.S. women's history, more than historical 4,000 documents, a dictionary of social movements, and book and website reviews. Documents include 90,000 pages of federal, state, and local publications on the status of women between 1961 and 2005. Other documents are articles, editorials, book chapters, speeches, biographical portraits, proceedings, ephemera, photographs, charts, and tables.
Description: Women and Social Movements in the United States provides access to an online journal of the same name, a chronology of U.S. women's history, more than historical 4,000 documents, a dictionary of social movements, and book and website reviews. Documents include 90,000 pages of federal, state, and local publications on the status of women between 1961 and 2005. Other documents are articles, editorials, book chapters, speeches, biographical portraits, proceedings, ephemera, photographs, charts, and tables. Time Period: 1600 to 2000 Sources: Contains the full text of more than 4,350 documents. Subject Headings: History, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Archival Material, Journal Articles Information Included: Full Text,Citations FindIt@BALL STATE:Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Alexander Street Press Updates: Bi-annually Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
First World War: Personal Experiences contains more than 5,000 primary resource documents related to World War One such as, diaries, journals, letters, and other materials. It also includes many secondary resources such as scholarly essays, a slideshow gallery, teaching pages, interactive maps, and chronologies.
Description:First World War: Personal Experiences contains more than 5,000 primary resource documents related to World War One such as, diaries, journals, letters, and other materials. It also includes many secondary resources such as scholarly essays, a slideshow gallery, teaching pages, interactive maps, and chronologies. Time Period: 1914 to1919 Sources: Includes more than 5,000 primary resources. Subject Headings: History, Social Sciences (Military History) Scholarly or Popular: Popular Primary Materials: Archival Material, Images, Maps Information Included: Full Text FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Adam Matthew Digital Updates: NA Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 gathers archival material from key libraries in Britain and America. The collection includes a wide range of printed material, pamphlets, letters, and eye witness accounts. The database also includes visual materials such as photographs, memorabilia, posters, and artifacts.
Description:Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 gathers archival material from key libraries in Britain and America. The collection includes a wide range of printed material, pamphlets, letters, and eye witness accounts. The database also includes visual materials such as photographs, memorabilia, posters, and artifacts. Time Period: 1950 to 1975 Sources: 1,000's of images, pamphlets, letters, and ephemera Subject Headings: History, Humanities, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Archival Materials Information Included: Digital Media FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Adam Matthew Digital Updates: NA Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
The Digital Media Repository offers online reproductions of documents, photographs, and audiovisual recordings on a number of subjects of local and national historical significance.