LibGuides: Educational Psychology: Research Resources

Find: Journal articles | Books & dissertations

Journal articles
Books & dissertations

Top databases for doing research in educational psychology:

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Key database in the field of psychology.
To limit results to journal articles, look under Source Types for "Academic Journals."
Further useful limiting options are under Limit To -> Show More.
Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Time Period: 1887 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: American Psychological Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A key database in the field of education, providing access to records of journal and non-journal literature.
To limit results to journal articles, look under Source Types for "Academic Journals."
Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Mobile, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: U.S. Department of Education
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch allows you to search through all of our library databases at once. Use the limiters on the left of the results page to refine your search.
Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Other databases to try:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database including articles from highly impactful journals. Allows citation chaining to follow who has cited an article you're interested in.
Description: Cross searching of Science Citation Index Expanded back to 1973, Social Sciences Citation Index back to 1981/82, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index back to 1976.
Time Period: 1956-present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index
Publisher: Clarivate Analytics
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers education journals geared towards teachers and other education professionals.
Description: Professional Development Collection provides indexing and access to education journals geared towards education professionals.
Time Period: 1965 to present
Sources: Indexes roughly 700 journals.
Subject Headings: Education
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines related to child development, cognitive science, educational psychology, and criminology.
Description: Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines related to child development, cognitive science, educational psychology, and criminology.
Time Period: 1930 to present
Sources: Indexes almost 600 peer-reviewed titles of which almost 500 are full text.
Subject Headings: Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Full Text, Citations, Abstracts
Print Equivalent: None
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Allows searching of book and article content. Look for book limiter on the results page.
Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the collected catalog of books and other materials owned by over 54,000 libraries worldwide.
Description: WorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned more than 54,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" link in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Check OneSearch" link in the record to see if we have book first.
Time Period: Antiquity-present
Sources: over 43,000 libraries
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Books, etc.)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:Books, videos, computer software, music, etc.
Information Included: Citations only
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: OCLC
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A key source for discovering doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields from around the world.
Description: A key source for discovering doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields from around the world. Some 250,000 new dissertations from leading academic institutions are added to the database each year, many with full text and/ or a free 24 page preview. This includes some from Ball State University, others can be found in Cardinal Scholar. The full text may be purchased for most dissertations added since 1997.
Note: Dissertations and theses from other institutions can be obtained at a discount through our Interlibrary Loan department. Contact them for details at (765) 285-1324.

Time Period: 17th century to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 5 million dissertations and theses and includes the full text of 3 million.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Dissertations and Theses)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Dissertation and Theses
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Find It @ Ball State: Helping you find the full text of the title you want

What's "Find It"?

When you' button with this text: "Find It @ Ball State" re using a database, and can't find a link to the full text of an article, look for a Find It @ Ball State button.

Find It helps you to search the Libraries' other databases and subscriptions to see if the full text is available through another resource.

If it is available, Find It provides a link to the text of the article.
If it cannot find the full-text, Find It provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request that we get a copy of the article from another library.

To use Find It, click on the red Find It @ Ball State button.

If we DO have full text access to the article, a page will be displayed with options for access under "Full Text Format Options." The typical options are:

PDF: the file format reflecting the formatting for a printed page
Link: taking you to the webpage version of the article

red arrow pointing to area with Full Text Format Options

If we do NOT have immediate full text access to the article, the OneSearch record for the article will be displayed.

Look under "Links" for "Request this item with InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad."
Click there, and log in with your Ball State username and password.
More information about placing an Interlibrary Loan request.

Links "Request the item with Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad"

This guide is based on the Educational Psychology Research guide from the University Texas Libraries. It has been revised and added to. "Educational Psychology" by Ball State University Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license.