Criminal Justice & Criminology

Description: The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database searches publications housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Summaries of some books and journal articles are also included in the collection. The database contains some full text. For full-text, see the much smaller NCJRS Virtual Library also on the Databases page.
Subject Headings: Law, Social Sciences (Corrections, Courts, Drugs, Law Enforcement, Juvenile Justice, Crime Statistics, Domestic Preparedness, Victims)
Time Period: 1960's to present
Sources: Indexes more than 220,000 publications.
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Journal Articles, Report
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: National Criminal Justice Reference Service (U.S. Dept. of Justice)
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Description: The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library searches publications housed in the NCJRS Library collection. For even more sources (but no full text), see the NCHRS Abstracts Database also on the Databases page.
Time Period: 1990's to present
Sources: Searches more than 220,000 publications including more than 3,500 in full text.
Subject Headings: Law, Social Sciences (Corrections, Courts, Drugs, Law Enforcement, Juvenile Justice, Crime Statistics, Domestic Preparedness, Victims)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Reports
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: National Criminal Justice Reference Service (U.S. Dept. of Justice)
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Time Period: 1887 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: American Psychological Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Description: Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Time Period: 1952 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Sociology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Papers 
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Description: Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Also contains legal resources for Canada and the EU.
Time Period: 18th century to present
Sources: Searches more than 15,000 sources.
Subject Headings: Business, General, Law, News, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Legal Materials, Magazine Articles, News, Reference Resources, Report, Transcripts
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Lexis Nexis
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Description: Articles from 1,000's of newspapers around the world.  Provides full text access to many local  and regional newspapers in the U.S.  Also contains magazine articles, transcripts, videos, and other sources.
Time Period: 1977 to present
Sources: Contains articles from 3,200 sources including newspapers, blogs, and magazines.
Subject Headings: General, News 
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Audio, Citations, Magazine Articles, News, Reviews, Trade Publications, Transcripts, Videos
Information Included: Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: NewsBank
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited