Virtual Bookshelf: CAP Lecture Series: Home

Photographs of the original building, the addition, and construction in the Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository.

Photographs in and around the Quonset huts, the first site of the College of Architecture and Planning, in the Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository.

Full text of the copy of this publication at the Boston Public Library available online through the Internet Archive.

Full text of Gardener's Magazine available online from the Biodiversity Heritage Library.

From the site: Cultural landscapes reveal our relationship with place and strengthen our understanding of historic events, significant people, and patterns in American history. This is your guide to cultural landscapes in the National Park System.

From the site: [these standards and guidelines] provide guidance to cultural landscape owners, stewards and managers, landscape architects, preservation planners, architects, contractors, and project reviewers prior to and during the planning and implementation of project work.

Amass makes a case for architectural experiments with massing. By understanding architecture as a collection of interrelationships between multiple masses, the work of plusClover uses pressure, thickness and media - the core subjects of this book - to facilitate differing degrees of coherence. By tabulating selected projects under these three categories of massing, this book demonstrates new possibilities in massing that move beyond the singular object towards multiplicity of effects. Amass unfolds the process - from bounding box diagrams to construction photos - through which the projects were conceived, explored and detailed.

From the description: Neil Denari speaks to graduate students preparing to embark on their thesis project. He reminds them that the ideas and strategies they pursue independently can be clarified and amplified by mapping affinities with related work by others. .... Denari concludes by advising the students that, “You are always somewhere with someone,” and challenging them to “Recognize where you are, recognize who’s next to you, recognize even who’s far away from you and go find them, recognize your marginal differences.”

Clover Lee referred to Banham's writing on architect Sigurd Lewerentz in this book.

From the article description: Aaron Betsky find that architects are drawing on the messiness of Thailand's capital to create a scaffolding for beauty.

Over the last 20 years, the Enterprise Rose Fellows--a program of Enterprise Community Partners--have gained a deep understanding of the conditions that cause housing insecurity, poverty, and injustice by embedding themselves in the communities where they work. By using proven design processes, artistic practices, and community engagement principles, and committing to long-term collaborations with residents, they have drastically improved the quality of life in vulnerable communities. Simply put, they have changed lives. This collection of stories and intimate documentary photographs delivers lessons in how we can work together to improve the lives of our neighbors. On the US-Mexico border, in farm country, in Rust Belt cities, and in pockets of blight and abandonment, the examples show that architecture is about human relationships and shared ambitions, and how buildings can support and embody them.

Includes links to these resources from the firm:
Redesigning Hospital Spaces on the Fly to Protect Healthcare Workers / Designing Senior Housing for Save Interaction / COVID-19 Construction Safety Guidelines / Designing Spaces for Infection Control.

With gunfire outside his window and black smoke rolling into the sky from the nearby police station, Mr. Elliott (international architect) shares with his readers what it was like to be living and working in Benghazi, Libya before the "Day of Rage", February 17, 2011.Through his documented architectural travel blog he shares his adventures in the North African countries of Libya and Egypt. Now that six years have past since the downfall of the Gaddafi regime, he REFLECTS on his world travels and his architectural experiences.

Available to ACSA individual members. "ProPEL is a growing library of educational video resources covering foundational and emerging topics in architecture." -- from the website

Graphic showing the stages of technology from invention to mainstream adoption. Includes the "trough of disillusionment."

The Museum of Modern Art Archives is an internationally recognized research center for modern and contemporary art. The Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible nearly 90 years’ worth of the Museum’s historical records, 40 years’ worth of MoMA PS1 records, and other primary source documents concerning art and cultural history in the 20th and 21st centuries, including private archives and papers of artists, galleries, dealers, art historians, critics, and others. The holdings also include an extensive Photographic Archive and interviews conducted as part of the Archives Oral History Program. An essential resource for scholars, students, curators, conservators, writers, journalists, artists, and Museum staff, the Archives plays a crucial role in fulfilling MoMA’s mission as an educational institution.--from the website

The Ryerson and Burnham Art and Architecture Archives collects approximately 5,000 linear feet of artists’ and architects’ papers that both illuminate the development of art and architecture in Chicago and the Midwest from the 1870s to the present and complement the museum’s permanent collections. This collection is renowned for the caliber of its holdings related to the First and Second Chicago Schools, the Prairie School, development of the skyscraper, Chicago urban planning, the World’s Columbian Exposition of 1893, and 20th-century local art galleries.--from the website

"This book is not for you. It is not for architectural academic elites. It is not for those who have gentrified our neighborhoods, overly intellectualized the profession, and ignored all contemporary Black theory within the discipline. You have made architecture a symbol of exclusion, oppression, and domination rather than expression, aspiration, and inspiration. This book is not for conformists-Black, White, or other." As architecture grapples with its own racist legacy, Hip-Hop Architecture outlines a powerful new manifesto-the voice of the underrepresented, marginalized, and voiceless within the discipline. Exploring the production of spaces, buildings, and urban environments that embody the creative energies in hip-hop, it is a newly expanding design philosophy which sees architecture as a distinct part of hip-hop's cultural expression, and which uses hip-hop as a lens through which to provoke new architectural ideas. Examining the present and the future of Hip-Hop Architecture, the book also explores its historical antecedents and its theory, placing it in a wider context both within architecture and within Black and African American movements. Throughout, the work is illustrated with inspirational case studies of architectural projects and creative practices, and interspersed with interludes and interviews with key architects, designers, and academics in the field. This is a vital and provocative work that will appeal to architects, designers, students, theorists, and anyone interested in a fresh view of architecture, design, race and culture. Includes Foreword by Michael Eric Dyson.

Three hundred years ago, intellectuals of the European Enlightenment constructed a mythology of technology. Influenced by a confluence of humanism, colonialism, and racism, this mythology ignored local wisdom and indigenous innovation, deeming it primitive. Today, we have slowly come to realize that the legacy of this mythology is haunting us. Designers understand the urgency of reducing humanity's negative environmental impact, yet perpetuate the same mythology of technology that relies on exploiting nature. Responding to climate change by building hard infrastructures and favoring high-tech homogenous design, we are ignoring millennia-old knowledge of how to live in symbiosis with nature. Without implementing soft systems that use biodiversity as a building block, designs remain inherently unsustainable. Lo--TEK, derived from Traditional Ecological Knowledge, is a cumulative body of multigenerational knowledge, practices, and beliefs, countering the idea that indigenous innovation is primitive and exists isolated from technology. It is sophisticated and designed to sustainably work with complex ecosystems. With a foreword by anthropologist Wade Davis and four chapters spanning Mountains, Forests, Deserts, and Wetlands, this book explores thousands of years of human wisdom and ingenuity from 18 countries including Peru, the Philippines, Tanzania, Kenya, Iran, Iraq, India, and Indonesia. We rediscover an ancient mythology in a contemporary context, radicalizing the spirit of human nature. The tactile reading experience of Lo--TEK reflects the ingenuity of carefully selected projects with sophisticated design details: copper highlights the value of ancient knowledge, a cardboard hardcover echoes rawness, and the Swiss binding showcases an open spine and reveals the construction of the book, just as the book discloses hidden technological knowledge.

From modest beginnings in an old house in Columbus, Ohio, architects Curtis Moody and Howard E. Nolan have built Moody Nolan into one of the premier public and institutional architecture design firms in the country. Through a combination of entrepreneurial persistence and outsized talent, the award-winning partnership has completed a highly diverse range of projects--from schools and libraries to fire stations and prisons--in more than forty states. With nearly two hundred employees working in regional offices across the country, Moody Nolan has developed a consistent design ethos centered on humane values and the notion of an architecture that responds naturally to site and programmatic requirements. Their signature brand of responsive architecture utilizes transparency, layering, and massing to leave a lasting impression on their building's visitors and inhabitants. Featuring lush photography that beautifully illustrates their design philosophy, Moody Nolan Design presents the innovative firm's complete oeuvre of built projects.

From the LTL website: Manual of Physical Distancing is a visual assessment of the challenges of living in the time of Covid -19 illustrating the medical research and spatial recommendations tied to rates of spread of this virus. The goal is to use the visual practices of architecture to provide greater clarity over the spatial implications of addressing and mitigating Covid-19. Areas of study include rates of transmission, indoor vs outdoor risks, educational spaces, shared spaces of buildings, and public spaces in cities. This is a dynamic document, of which the most recent version is available online. This research work is lead by Paul Lewis, David J. Lewis and Marc Tsurumaki, along with Guy Nordenson.

The source of the quote "[t]he most profound technologies are those that disappear."

Architecture influences the way we live and the way we live influences architecture. Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects - Architecture Is a Social Act explores these two ideas at the core of LOHA's work and shows how one informs the other. The book features 25 projects from across two decades and two continents, ranging in scope from housing projects and commercial complexes to cultural landmarks and master-planned communities. Each project demonstrates how the firm responds to the political, economic, and environmental forces that are shaping today's cities by crafting architecture that offers a sense of place and belonging in a rapidly changing world.

In autumn 2009 The Museum of Modern Art and MoMA PS1 selected five interdisciplinary teams of architects, engineers and landscape designers to propose solutions to the effects of climate change on NewYork's waterfront. The resulting proposals, exhibited in 2010, emphasize 'soft' infrastructure interventions that would make NewYork City and its surrounding areas more ecologically sound and more resilient in responding to rising sea levels and storm surges. These innovative projects include the creation of salt- and freshwater wetlands, a Venice-like aqueous landscape, habitable piers and manmade islands, and a protective reef of living oysters. Published to document the exhibition, Rising Currents presents these five projects in detail in essays that summarize the workshop and exhibition, the dialogues they engendered with outside experts and political figures involved in regional planning, and the climate change and urban planning implications of the proposed solutions.

From the website: [T]his Atlas for the Green New Deal brings together a vast and diverse array of information in the form of maps and datascapes: tools to help us understand the spatial consequences of the climate crisis—not so that we may be frightened by them, but so that we may be mobilized around a response to them.

Recording of the 2019 event.

From the website: The Climate and Community Project (CPP) is a progressive climate policy think tank developing cutting-edge research at the climate and inequality nexus. Look for the "Achieving Zero Emissions with More Mobility and Less Mining" report that Billy Fleming referenced in his lecture.

Foreword by Naomi Klein referenced by Billy Fleming in his lecture.

"A smart and accessible cultural history."--Los Angeles Times "A fantastic examination of what became the mall ... envision[ing] a more meaningful public afterlife for our shopping centers."--Vulture A portrait--by turns celebratory, skeptical, and surprisingly moving--of one of America's most iconic institutions, from an author who "might be the most influential design critic writing now" (LARB). Few places have been as nostalgized, or as maligned, as malls. Since their birth in the 1950s, they have loomed large as temples of commerce, the agora of the suburbs. In their prime, they proved a powerful draw for creative thinkers such as Joan Didion, Ray Bradbury, and George Romero, who understood the mall's appeal as both critics and consumers. Yet today, amid the aftershocks of financial crises and a global pandemic, as well as the rise of online retail, the dystopian husk of an abandoned shopping center has become one of our era's defining images. Conventional wisdom holds that the mall is dead. But what was the mall, really? And have rumors of its demise been greatly exaggerated? In her acclaimed The Design of Childhood, Alexandra Lange uncovered the histories of toys, classrooms, and playgrounds. She now turns her sharp eye to another subject we only think we know. She chronicles postwar architects' and merchants' invention of the mall, revealing how the design of these marketplaces played an integral role in their cultural ascent. In Lange's perceptive account, the mall becomes newly strange and rich with contradiction: Malls are environments of both freedom and exclusion--of consumerism, but also of community. Meet Me by the Fountain is a highly entertaining and evocative promenade through the mall's story of rise, fall, and ongoing reinvention, for readers of any generation.

Radical Practice celebrates the extraordinary, award-winning designs of Marlon Blackwell Architects, an Arkansas-based firm with a focus on public and civic projects that are located outside of the established centers of architectural culture. The distinct and original work of Marlon Blackwell Architects has produced iconic and award-winning designs across building types, scales, and budgets. Located in Arkansas, the firm merges the universal language of architecture and the particulars of place, a process that has resulted in a distinguished body of work, from schools to parks and beyond. Celebrating thirty years of practice by the 2020 AIA Gold Medal-winning architect Marlon Blackwell, this survey of more than a dozen buildings pairs detailed drawings and the vivid photographs of renowned photographer Timothy Hursley with essays by leading designers, planners, and artists. Contributors include Tod Williams and Billie Tsien, architects of the Obama Presidential Center; Maurice Cox, Chicago's city planning director; Pritzker Prize-winning architect Thom Mayne, James Corner, landscape architect of the High Line, and environmental artist Mary Miss among many others--all of whom attest to Blackwell's reputation as a leading voice of his generation.

"Paul Farmer, doctor and aid worker, offers an inspiring insider's view of the relief effort." -- Financial Times "The book's greatest strength lies in its depiction of the post-quake chaos In the book's more analytical sections the author's diagnosis of the difficulties of reconstruction is sharp." -- Economist "A gripping, profoundly moving book, an urgent dispatch from the front by one of our finest warriors for social justice." -- Adam Hochschild "His honest assessment of what the people trying to help Haiti did well -- and where they failed -- is important for anyone who cares about the country or international aid in general." -- Miami Herald

Includes panelist Tim Wise, author and educator.