Research & Teaching Services Librarian
Information and news about Ball State University
Use these sources to explore topics and to see what issues are being discussed on our campus.
-
Ball State DailyFind current news and events on our campus. You may find articles from the early 2000's for historical context. See the Digital Media Repository linked below for older issues of our student newspaper.
-
Digital Media Repository: Student Newspaper CollectionThis database also includes other collections which may be of interest including Ball State University Board of Trustees Minutes and the Ball State University Senate Agendas, and Minutes.
-
Ball State NewsFind official news articles published by Ball State University. For less recent articles, click on an article on the home page and select Archives from the breadcrumbs above the story. Articles can be found as far back as 2007.
-
University DataFind Ball State University information and statistics related to our students (including enrollment and demographics).
-
Annual Security and Fire Safety ReportsFind Ball State University security and fire reports. Security reports include campus crime statistics for the past 3 years. Fire safety reports report the number of fires by location on campus as well as information about fire safety systems installed in the dorms. You will also find links to campus drug and alcohol policies.
Note: A search of the university's website for university policy will bring back Ball State University webpages with information about policies related to a broad range of things including campus housing, employment, and information technology.
News Sources and Statistics from other Universities
Use these sources to see what issues exist on other campuses and to see how they address them.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowLocate stories from other universities by typing "university wire" in the search box (the one with "Enter terms, sources, companies, or citations" in really big letters). Select the source when it appears below the search box. A green bar will show up at the top of the browser screen informing you that it has limited your search to that source.
-
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThis publication reports stories and covers topics related to higher education. You may find news and editorials related to issues on college and university campuses.
-
College ScorecardFind basic statistics for universities around the U.S.
-
College and University StatisticsA list of statistical resources from the U.S Department of Education.
-
Statistics Subject GuidesA guide to statistical resources on the web related to a variety of subjects.
Articles and Editorials Related to your Topics
Find peer reviewed and other articles using these databases. Depending on your topic, you may wish to consult other databases. This is the short list.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database covers a wide range of topics and allows you to limit to Scholarly/ Peer Reviewed articles. See the left column of the results list for this limit.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains newspaper articles including editorials, which are a good source for seeing what arguments are being made about solutions to community issues. To limit to editorials, click on News in the grey bar above the search box and then click on the Advanced Search link below the News search box. Scroll down until you see the Section box and enter "Editorial" into the box. Scroll back up and enter your terms and click on the blue magnifying glass button.
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowThis database covers a wide range of topics. It finds journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books and other materials in our collection. There is a peer reviewed limit in the left column of the results list.
-
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis database allows you to find articles published in journals in the field of education. It has a search interface similar to Academic Search Premier. Look for the "Peer Review" checkbox in the left column of the results list.