Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO 111 (Southern Wells High School)

Information tips, tricks, resources, tools, and other for APA/Dual credit BIO 111 at Southern Wells High School.

Ball State University Recommended Research Tools/Databases

As a dual credit student, you have access to databases and other resources and services provided by Ball State University Libraries. Some of them are listed below. The Ask a Librarian page can put you in touch with research experts who can help you navigate these resources.

The Libraries provide access to authoritative and accurate sources of information on peer-reviewed and otherwise scholarly publications through the Databases page.

The Databases pages can be viewed in a couple of different ways. You can look at an A-Z list of all the databases we offer access to or you can choose a subject (e.g. Science or Health) and just look at databases relevant to your field of interest. 

For instance, go to the Databases page and click the Databases by Subject link on the left hand navigation bar. Then click on the Science menu item.  This will bring up only those databases concerned with the hard sciences including mathematics.  Another subject area that may apply to biology researchers would be Health. Remember: just because it doesn’t say BIOLOGY doesn’t mean it is irrelevant to what you are doing. Do not neglect a source because it does not seem to fit your research. It might be surprisingly relevant.

For information about the databases themselves, click on the red i button [i] to the left of the database you want to use.

Discovery Tools (to begin with):
OneSearch
Web of Science
ScienceDirect
Ingenta Connect

More focused/in depth:
AGRICOLA covers research agricultural science (e.g. hybridization, entomology, pesticide resistance, etc.)
Web of Science)
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Medline (EBSCOhost) (other databases simultaneously accessible via EBSCO; also accessible at Medline)
JSTOR (over 100 full-text journals on botany, biometry, limnology, ecology, etc.)
SciFindern (chemistry-focused but also covers lots of biomedical sources and accesses Medline)

General Research & Reference:
Academic Search Complete (an EBSCO database)
Annual Reviews
Biomedical Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Life
Oxford Reference Online

Find Fulltext Directly or Request with Interlibrary Loan with these tools:
Find It @ BALL STATE
Citation Linker

Library Links & Services

Everything on this page will require a Ball State University username and password as some point. Some of the tools on this page may allow you access to a certain level but will ask you to log in to be able to download an article or request a book.

Find It @BALL STATE

Most of the time, if you’re accessing Google Scholar on campus, it will be configured to point at University Libraries resources as well as being Find It @BALL STATE-enabled.

“Find It @ BALL STATE-enabled” means that Google Scholar, Biological Abstracts, or whatever database you might be using has been connected to “link resolver” software that will search all the databases in a specified list for full-text versions of articles you may find in sources that do not offer full-text or for items in databases for which we have no subscription. 

Currently, you can activate this Find It @ BALL STATE link-resolver by clicking the Find It @ BALL STATE button (seen above) or link beside or beneath article/book citations. Find It @ BALL STATE-enabled databases will also be indicated on the Databases list with a small icon.

On occasion, Find It @ BALL STATE will not be able to find a full-text version of your article but it will give you the option for requesting it via our ILL services (see the Interlibrary Loan subtab under the Research/Library Resources tab).

For more information, consult the LibKey Nomad LibGuide.

Citation Linker

Another method for finding full-text versions of articles is to use the Citation Linker application powered by Find It @ BALL STATE.  You can find it in the lower right hand corner of the E-Journals tab (see below).

Once you have a citation for an article you want, simply fill in the fields in the Citation Linker and click .  It will then do the same thing as Find It @ BALL STATE by searching our journals and databases for a full-text version of your article.