LibGuides: Architecture Library Journals and Magazines: Databases for Finding Articles

Start Your Search Here

Start your searches in these databases:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
For topics in Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Urban Planning, Historic Preservation, and Urban Design.
Description: Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
For topics in Landscape Architecture.
Description: Art Index Full Text, a key database for art, provides full text articles from more than 300 titles. Of the 600 titles indexed, 280 are peer reviewed. The database also covers subjects such as interior design, costume design, architecture and landscape architecture. Art Index Full Text indexes titles back to 1984 and contains the full text of articles beginning in 1994.
Time Period: 1984 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 600 titles and contains full text articles from more than 300 periodicals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: none
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
For topics in Urban Planning.
Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
For topics in Historic Preservation.
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6

Databases for Topics in Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Urban Planning, and Historic Preservation

Architectural Publications Index
Compiled by the Royal Institute of British Architects.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers some architecture and landscape architecture topics. Articles published 1985-present.
Description: Art Index Full Text, a key database for art, provides full text articles from more than 300 titles. Of the 600 titles indexed, 280 are peer reviewed. The database also covers subjects such as interior design, costume design, architecture and landscape architecture. Art Index Full Text indexes titles back to 1984 and contains the full text of articles beginning in 1994.
Time Period: 1984 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 600 titles and contains full text articles from more than 300 periodicals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: none
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window Indexes articles published 1929-1984.
Description: Major index in the field of art, covering journals published from 1929-1984. See Art Index for journals published 1985-present.
For concurrent use of Art Index and Art Index Retrospective, open Art Index Retrospective, Click on Choose Database above the search box and select Art Full Text.
Time Period: 1929 to1984
Sources: Indexes over 600 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: 4
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The main source for citations of articles on architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation.
Description: Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and popular journals, magazines, and newspapers. Covers city planning and offers full text for several planning journals.
Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window Covers topics in sustainability and design. Online access to articles from Environmental Building News, the GreenSpec directory of building products, and a database of 100+ high-performance building case studies.
Description: Use BuildingGreen to read recent and past issues of the Environmental Building News, see hundreds of case studies, and browse the CSI classification and LEED credit.
According to the BuildingGreen website, the publisher of this database, BuildingGreenis an independent company providing information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the
environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings.
Time Period: 1992 to present
Sources: Provides access to Environmental Building News and more than 360 case studies.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Science, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Case Studies, Citations, News, Other
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: BuildingGreen
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
CUMINCAD This link opens in a new window Cumulative index of publications about computer-aided architectural design from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS, etc. USERS MUST REGISTER IN ORDER TO ACCESS THE FULL TEXT. Click on "New User."
Description: CumInCAD allows users to search and browse conference proceedings, journal articles, nearly 300 theses, and a small number of books. Called the Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design. Users can create an account which allows them to do advanced searching. Click on "log in" and see the link under "new users."
Time Period: 1998 to present
Sources: Contains nearly 8,500 conference papers
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities (Architecture)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Acadia
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

InformeDesign
Research summaries of articles for architects, landscape architects, and planners. A project from the Univ. of Minnesota. To find the original articles, search for the article title in OneSearch or check CardCat for the journal title. If the library does not have access to the article, request it via interlibrary loan.

More Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A good general database. Includes some architecture journals in full text.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Access World News This link opens in a new window Full text coverage of select world newspapers.
Description: Articles from 1,000's of newspapers around the world. Provides full text access to many local and regional newspapers in the U.S. Also contains magazine articles, transcripts, videos, and other sources.
Time Period: 1977 to present
Sources: Contains articles from 3,200 sources including newspapers, blogs, and magazines.
Subject Headings: General, News
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Audio, Citations, Magazine Articles, News, Reviews, Trade Publications, Transcripts, Videos
Information Included: Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: NewsBank
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Covers agriculture, some botany and biology. Indexes Public Garden.
Description: AGRICOLA is a key database for the field of agriculture. It is also strong in related fields, such as botany and biology. You must select either the Books or Articles database.
Note: AGRICOLA is produced by the National Agricultural Library.
Time Period: 15th century to present
Sources: Searches roughly 880 journals and the catalog of the National Agricultural Library.
Subject Headings: Business, Science (Agriculture)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Journal Articles
Information Included: Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: National Agricultural Library
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window Citations to articles on American and Canadian history topics including some architecture topics. Also provides citations to dissertations and articles in state and regional history publications.
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
Applied Science & Technology Index This link opens in a new window Includes engineering and materials.
Description: Key database in the fields of engineering, computer science, and other applied sciences. Contains some full text and linked full text. More than 480 of it nearly 800 titles are peer reviewed. Subjects include; applied mathematics, civil engineering, communication & information technology, optical & neural computing, and physics.
Sources: Indexes nearly 800 journals.>Time Period: 1983 to present
Subject Headings: Mobile, Science, Technology (Engineering, Physics, Computers, Mathematics)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: H.W. Wilson
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: 4
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Covers topics in education in 1000+ journals, including articles on school buildings.
Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Mobile, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: U.S. Department of Education
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Covers environmental issues in scholarly, general-interest, and government publications. Some full text.
Description: GreenFILE draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database covers topics such as climate change, green building, renewable energy, and recycling.
Time Period: 1910 to present
Sources: Indexed more than 700 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Education, Health, Law, Mobile, Science, Technology (Environment)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of 420 scholarly journals including a number of architecture titles. Archives journals back to first issues, but does not include most recent 3-5 years or more for most titles.
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

JSTOR Plant Science
Includes prints, drawings, photographs, and documents related to plants and plant science.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and selected sources.
Description: Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Also contains legal resources for Canada and the EU.
Time Period: 18th century to present
Sources: Searches more than 15,000 sources.
Subject Headings: Business, General, Law, News, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Legal Materials, Magazine Articles, News, Reference Resources, Report, Transcripts
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Lexis Nexis
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in medical journals. For articles on healthcare spaces, effects of landscape and the built environment on health, etc.
Description: MEDLINE, created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is the premier index of medical journal articles. This version of the databases has linked full text and FindIt@BALL STATE, a technology which helps users locate the text of articles when it isn't available in MEDLINE. The advanced search allows users to place a wide range of limits on their searches including limiting results to EBM reviews.
Time Period: 1946 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 5,200 journals.
Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Psychology, Science, Technology (Biomedicine, Life Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: National Library of Medicine
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
PAIS International This link opens in a new window Online resource for Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin; covers 1977 to the present, some coverage 1972 - present.
Description: Key database for the field of political science and public policy issues. Includes PAIS Archives 1914-1976.
Time Period: 1914 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 3,800 journals.
Subject Headings: History, Law, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Political Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included:Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of more than 280 scholarly journals including some related to architecture.
Description: Project Muse is a full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from JSTOR, in PDF format.
Time Period: 1993 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 300 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles
Information Included: Journal Articles
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window For information on healthcare design. Indexes HERD: Health Environments Research & Design Journal among others.
Description: Nursing & Allied Health Database is a comprehensive resource for students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals. It covers topics related to nursing, mental health, public health, and patient care.
Time Period: 1986 to present
Sources: Contains the full text of more than 800 journals and magazines.
Subject Headings: Health (Nursing)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials:Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest Information & Learning
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Focuses on journals in social work and related fields.
Description: Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Time Period: 1952 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Sociology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Papers
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sport Discus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window Includes articles on buildings and sites related to sports.
Description: Key database for sport medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. The database does have some items published in the 19th century.
Time Period: 1975-present
Sources: over 2,000 journals
Subject Headings: Education, Health, Mobile (Physical Education and Sports Medicine)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings
Information Included: Citations, abstracts, full text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Sport Information Resource Centre
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2-4
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index entries from 1987 to the present.
Description: Cross searching of Science Citation Index Expanded back to 1973, Social Sciences Citation Index back to 1981/82, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index back to 1976.
Time Period: 1956-present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index
Publisher: Clarivate Analytics
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited