Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Labor History Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Research guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections pertaining to the history of organized labor in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana.

Photograph Collections

The following collections contain photographs related to labor unions in Muncie:

  • Robert Satterlee Photographs (P 65) - Includes photographs taken for the Gear O' Gram magazine, published by Satterlee and the employees of BorgWarner automotive plant in Muncie, Indiana.  Satterlee also took photographs of the Indianapolis 500 from 1961-1972.
     
  • Virgil Ozbun Photographs (P 49) -Includes photographs of BorgWarner and Warner Gear employees, events, retirements, and other activities.
  • Amalgamated Association of Iron, Steel, and Tin Workers Union (PSC 275)

  • Indiana Industrial Union Council Fourth Annual Convention Photograph (PSC 361)

  • Photographs of workers in the various factories in Muncie can be found in a number of photograph collections in the Archives. Examples include Otto Sellers Collection (P 20), the Spurgeon-Greene Collection (P 40), and the Richard Roller Photograph Collection (P 179). Photographs from these collections can be found in the University Libraries’ Digital Media Repository.