Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Archives and Special Collections preserves a wealth of information on local, state and national history. Included in these holdings are published and unpublished materials, manuscript collections, photographs and other research documentation on Civil War.

Manuscript Collections

By action of the Board of Trustees in 1979, the collection of local history materials at Archives and Special Collections was named after Althea L. Stoeckel, Ball State University Professor of History from 1960-1978. These collections contain a wealth of materials concerning Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana, including numerous collections documenting the Civil War period in Muncie and Delaware county. The following are descriptions of these relevant collections with links to online finding aids.

Small Manuscript Collections

The Stoeckel Archives of Local History Materials contains small manuscript collections of one or two folders of items as well as the larger manuscript collections described in the guide. The following is a list of the small collections related to African Americans in Muncie and Delaware County.

Additional Manuscript Resources

  • Local History Files by subject (African-Americans; Black History; Underground Railroad, etc.). Contains newspaper clippings, student papers, and other documentation gathered in subject files.

  • The Daily Citizen.  J.M. Swords, proprietor. Vicksburg, Miss., 1863. [reprint of Confederate newspaper] (OVC 27)

  • The Chattanooga Daily Rebel, Franc. M. Paul, publisher. Chattanooga, Tenn., August 9, 1862. [Confederate newspaper] (OVC 28)