LibGuides: Native American Studies Resources in Archives and Special Collections: Miami and Delaware Indians

Manuscript Collections

By action of the Board of Trustees in 1979, the collection of local history materials at Archives and Special Collections was named after Althea L. Stoeckel, Ball State University Professor of History from 1960-1978. These collections contain a wealth of materials concerning Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana, including numerous collections documenting Miami and Delaware Native Americans in Muncie and Delaware county. The following are descriptions of these relevant collections with links to online finding aids.

Richard A. Greene Collection, 1945-1983 (MSS 1)
Information on local history, including local Native American history. The columns can be browsed on the Digital Media Repository.
Indian Reserves Collection, 1832-1975 (MSS 11)
The collection contains an article by Dolores M. Lahrman and Ross S. Johnson describing Indian landholdings in Delaware County and subsequent claims filed in regard to sale of those lands.
more...less...
For further information on the photocopied material, see: The National Archives, Preliminary Inventory of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Volume 1 (Record Group 75), Washington: 1965, particularly pages 147-150: Records concerning Indian land reserves.
Miami Indians Collection, 1790-1971 (MSS 04)
Collection consists of research items used by Dr. Bert Anson for his book, a history of the Miami tribe; includes note cards, photocopies of treaties and legal proceedings, tribal genealogies, and correspondence.
more...less...
See also a separate photo collection, P 2, OVB 2 contains oversize items, and three maps (Map 68, Map 69, and Map 70.
Congressman Philip R Sharp Papers, 1970-1994 (MSS 156)
The papers of Philip R. Sharp consist primarily of records related to his tenure as U. S. Representative for Indiana from 1975 to 1995. Materials from his congressional campaigns in 1970 and 1972 are also included.
more...less...
Native American information can be found in the following areas, Legislative Issues, 95th Congress, Health, Labor, 1977; Legislative Issues, 95th Congress, Energy, Interior, 1978; Indiana Projects/District Files, 1990-1994.
Wiley W. Spurgeon Papers, 1857-2001 (MSS 211)
Contains articles and columns by Wiley W. Spurgeon, divided by date and also by subject (copies may be duplicated in each category), his research subject files, correspondence, and historical materials given to him from Delaware county residents. Native American information can be found in "Subject Files: H."
Althea L. Stoeckel Collection, 1954-1979 (MSS 39)
The collection is divided into administrative, pamphlet, and subject files. The pamphlet files contain documents on specific subjects in Indiana history. Indians, generals, the Civil War, the Northwest Territory are covered.
Patricia Taylor Clipping Collection, 1919-2002 (MSS 226)
This collection contains newspaper clippings and publications, collected by local area resident Patricia Taylor, relating to events, people and activities in east central Indiana, Ball State University, wars, history and presidents.
Charles Wise Papers, 1943-1999 (MSS 230)
The collection contains correspondence with colleagues in the Indiana General Assembly
from roughly 1969 to 1975. One can find Native American information in the Miami Indian Memorial file.
Elizabeth J. Glenn Papers, 1634-2000 (RG.04.01.40)
Includes research and legal papers, documents, personal papers, maps, photocopies of archival documents, and books from Elizabeth Glenn ranging from 1809 to 2000 regarding anthropology and Miami Indian nation history.

Small Manusript Collections

Ferguson, Roger. "Civilizing Attempts Among the White River Indiana Delaware, 1801-1812" 1976 (SC 124)
McNaughton Family Genealogy Collection, 1978-1984 (SC 221)
Miller, Dr. Francis Fox. "Six Moons Over the Mississinewa," 1990 (SC 34)

Additional Manuscript Resources

Local History Files contains newspaper clippings, student papers, and other documentation gathered in subject files. Search by subject (Native Americans and subfolder categories of General, Handbooks & Writings, and Indian Jim (Rees Cemetery). Also see information in the Muncie/Delaware County History file.