LibGuides: Philosophy : Find Articles

Library Databases: Best bets for finding articles in philosophy and related fields

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Search through the citations and abstracts of articles from over 500 philosophy journals.
Description: Philosophers Index is a key database to philosophy and related disciplines.
Time Period: 1940's to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 journals.
Subject Headings: History, Humanities, Mobile, Philosophy & Religion (Philosophy)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal articles, books, conference proceedings
Information Included: Citations and abstracts
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Philosopher Information Center
Updates: Quarterly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers many fields of study, even back to the 19th century. To search within the relevant journals, select “Philosophy” in the disciplines list on the advanced search page.
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines related to an array of topics connected with religion, church history, and philosophy; including ethics, logic, and epistemology.
Description: Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines related to an array of topics connected with religion, church history, and philosophy; including ethics, logic, and epistemology.
Time Period: 1960's to present
Sources: Indexes more than 260 journals and magazines, 222 of which are peer-reviewed, and 207 are in full text.
Subject Headings: Philosophy and Religion
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Full Text, Citations, Abstracts
Print Equivalent: None
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers many fields in the humanities, including philosophy (1993-present).
Description: Project Muse is a full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from JSTOR, in PDF format.
Time Period: 1993 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 300 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles
Information Included: Journal Articles
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Find It @ Ball State: Helping you find the full text of the title you want

What's "Find It"?

When you' button with this text: "Find It @ Ball State" re using a database, and can't find a link to the full text of an article, look for a Find It @ Ball State button.

Find It helps you to search the Libraries' other databases and subscriptions to see if the full text is available through another resource.

If it is available, Find It provides a link to the text of the article.
If it cannot find the full-text, Find It provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request that we get a copy of the article from another library.

To use Find It, click on the red Find It @ Ball State button.

If we DO have full text access to the article, a page will be displayed with options for access under "Full Text Format Options." The typical options are:

PDF: the file format reflecting the formatting for a printed page
Link: taking you to the webpage version of the article

red arrow pointing to area with Full Text Format Options

If we do NOT have immediate full text access to the article, the OneSearch record for the article will be displayed.

Look under "Links" for "Request this item with InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad."
Click there, and log in with your Ball State username and password.
More information about placing an Interlibrary Loan request.

Links "Request the item with Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad"