LibGuides: History, Local: Databases

Databases

Additional material may be found in these electronic databases available from the University Libraries website, http://www.bsu.edu/library/, on the databases page:

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1974 to date
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1970 to date.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Includes both national and local newspapers, from 1977 to date.
Description: Articles from 1,000's of newspapers around the world. Provides full text access to many local and regional newspapers in the U.S. Also contains magazine articles, transcripts, videos, and other sources.
Time Period: 1977 to present
Sources: Contains articles from 3,200 sources including newspapers, blogs, and magazines.
Subject Headings: General, News
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Audio, Citations, Magazine Articles, News, Reviews, Trade Publications, Transcripts, Videos
Information Included: Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: NewsBank
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited