LibGuides: Chemistry: Find Articles &amp; Databases

Databases

For online databases and index services go to the Databases page and select the Science option. This will bring up a list science-related databases allowing a more concise search of the literature.

Tip: If you already have an article in mind and want to find a fulltext version of it, do a search for it in OneSearch. If the Libraries subscribe to the journal electronically, links to the online article will be provided.

American Chemical Society Publications
Description: Contains records for some articles which we do not have electronic access to. These articles will ask for an ACS ID and Password. Consider using our Interlibrary Loan service for such articles.
Time Period: 1896 to present
Sources: Contains more than 80 ACS journal titles.
Subject Headings: Science
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles, News

EPA Toxic Chemicals Release Inventory, 1987-1997

Ingenta Connect
Description: A very large multidisciplinary database that concentrates on science and medicine journals, with fewer journals in the social sciences and humanities. Ingenta works closely with many journal publishers, offering users a chance to purchase full-text articles.
Time Period: 1988-present
Sources: over 29,000 journals
Subject Headings: General, Health, Science
Primary Materials: Journal articles
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
Description: ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. More than 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works. Note: MultiLink appears in the article record rather than on the results list.
Time Period: 1990's to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 4,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Health, Science
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
SciFinder^n
Description: Key database for science research. Chemistry-focused but includes references from Medline as well. Users may search by typical means (e.g. keyword, author, title, etc.) but also by chemical structure.
Time Period: 1907 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 9,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Science
Primary Materials: Journal articles, substance data, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, etc.
Note: Must use your Ball State e-mail to register.

SciTech
Provides full text access to nearly 200,000 reports related to a wide range of scientific fields of study including, but not limited to, chemistry, physics, biology, environmental science, geology. The database also covers engineering, mathematics, and computer science.

Web of Science
Cross searching of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index back to 1987.
Description: Cross searching of Science Citation Index Expanded back to 1973, Social Sciences Citation Index back to 1981/82, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index back to 1976.
Time Period: 1900-present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles