LibGuides: Education Dissertation and Literature Review Resources and Tips: Finding Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses

Cardinal Scholar
Contains theses and dissertations done at Ball State University. You can browse by advisor and department among other data points. Click on Communities & Collections from within Cardinal Scholar and select Ball State Theses and Dissertations. This will include some works not found in Dissertations and Theses Global.

Description: Provides access to Ball State's scholarly works and institutional records, including Theses and Dissertations and University Records and Publications. Note: You may need a BSU username and password to access some content.
Time Period: 1950's to present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Archival Material, Audio, Citations, Dissertation and Theses
Dissertations and Theses Global
This is a great source for dissertation and theses done elsewhere. It contains the text of more than 3 million works from thousands of universities around the world. Although this contains most of the dissertations done at Ball State University it only has a few of the theses done here. To access a dissertation or thesis look for the Full text- PDF buttons on the results list.

Description: A key source for discovering doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields from around the world. Some 250,000 new dissertations from leading academic institutions are added to the database each year, many with full text and/ or a free 24 page preview. This includes some from Ball State University, others can be found in Cardinal Scholar. The full text may be purchased for most dissertations added since 1997.
Note: Dissertations and theses from other institutions can be obtained at a discount through our Interlibrary Loan department. Contact them for details at (765) 285-1324.

Time Period: 17th century to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 5 million dissertations and theses and includes the full text of 3 million.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Dissertations and Theses)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Dissertation and Theses
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Contains 1.5 million current and historical, digitized dissertations from more than 300 institutional repositories. Although not an exhaustive search, the text of all of the dissertations and theses will available from within the database.

Description: EBSCO Open Dissertations provides indexing to more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations (ETD's) from the U.S. and around the world. Although the purpose of the database is to improve discoverability of ETD's, it doesn't include links to the full text of all theses and dissertations indexed.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes 800,000 theses and dissertations.
Subject Headings: Architecture and Planning, Arts, Dance, Business, Communications, Journalism, Education, English and Linguistics, Health, Medicine, Nursing, History, Humanities, Law, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Political Science, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology
Primary Materials: Theses, Dissertations