Books
Learn Better: Mastering the Skills for Success in Life, Business, and School, or, How to Become an Expert in Just About Anything by
For centuries, experts have argued that learning was about memorizing information: You're supposed to study facts, dates, and details; burn them into your memory; and then apply that knowledge at opportune times. But this approach to learning isn't nearly enough for the world that we live in today, and in Learn Better journalist and education researcher Ulrich Boser demonstrates that how we learn can matter just as much as what we learn. In this brilliantly researched book, Boser maps out the new science of learning, showing how simple techniques like comprehension check-ins and making material personally relatable can help people gain expertise in dramatically better ways. He covers six key steps to help you "learn how to learn," all illuminated with fascinating stories like how Jackson Pollock developed his unique painting style and why an ancient Japanese counting device allows kids to do math at superhuman speeds. Boser's witty, engaging writing makes this book feel like a guilty pleasure, not homework. Learn Better will revolutionize the way students and society alike approach learning and makes the case that being smart is not an innate ability--learning is a skill everyone can master. With Boser as your guide, you will be able to fully capitalize on your brain's remarkable ability to gain new skills and open up a whole new world of possibilities.
Call Number: General Collection LB1060 .B674 2017Publication Date: 2017
How to Succeed in College (While Really Trying) by
How to Succeed in College (While Really Trying) provides much-needed help to students, offering practical tips and specific study strategies that will equip them to excel in their new environment. Drawing on years of experience teaching at a variety of campuses, from large research universities to small liberal arts colleges, Jon B. Gould gives readers the lay of the land and demystifies the college experience.
Call Number: General Collection LB1027.5 .G635 2012Publication Date: 2012
Dean's List by
With a solid GPA, numerous extracurricular achievements, and an acceptance letter from an excellent college, it seems that all of your hard work in school has paid off. Now what? What can you expect from college life, and how can you get the most out of it? This book answers these questions to help you excel in college. Deans at America's top institutions tell you what you need to know to have a rich and rewarding college experience. Armed with an insider's perspective, you will develop habits critical for college success.
Call Number: General Collection LB2395 .B24 2011Publication Date: 2011
Conquering College by
High school students receive a great deal of advice about gaining admission to college, but much less about what to do when they arrive there. In this perceptive and witty guide, Victor L. Cahn presents future undergraduates and their parents with a blueprint for how best to use these vital four years. He discusses the potential pitfalls and rewards of campus life; the challenges of academic, personal, and social freedom; and the opportunities offered by courses, professors, and extracurricular programs.
Call Number: General Collection LB2343.32 .C33 2009Publication Date: 2009
Digital Paper: A Manual for Research and Writing with Library and Internet Materials by
Today's researchers have access to more information than ever before. Yet the new material is both overwhelming in quantity and variable in quality. How can scholars survive these twin problems and produce groundbreaking research using the physical and electronic resources available in the modern university research library? In Digital Paper, Andrew Abbott provides some much-needed answers to that question.
Call Number: General Collection LB1047.3 .A22 2014Publication Date: 2014
What to Do When College Is Not the Best Time of Your Life by
If college is supposed to be the best time of our lives, why are so many students unhappy? What causes a well-adjusted and academically successful high school graduate to suddenly flounder when he reaches college? Why might she start to skip classes, binge on alcohol, or engage in unsatisfying hook-ups? Where does the anger and self-doubt come from, and why is it directed at loving parents or the student himself? Drawing on years of experience treating college-age youth, David Leibow, M.D. provides fresh, honest, and realistic answers to these and other important questions. Instead of adventure, liberation, and a triumphant march into adulthood, many college students experience shame, regression, and social and academic failure. Yet by understanding themselves better and making reasonable changes, students can grow from these challenges and turn bad choices into wiser personal and educational decisions. Leibow focuses on issues common to college settings-anxiety and depression, drug and alcohol abuse, laziness and work avoidance, body-image problems, and unhealthy relationships-detailing coping strategies and professional resources that best respond to each crisis. His intimate knowledge of campus life and its unique challenges adds credibility and weight to his advice. Reorienting the expectations of parents and students while providing the tools for overcoming a variety of hurdles, Leibow shows how college can still become one of the best times of our lives.
Call Number: General Collection RC451.4.S7 L45 2010Publication Date: 2010
What Color Is Your Parachute? For College: Pave Your Path from Major to Meaningful Work by
A modern guide for students on how to choose a major, create a four-year plan, make the most of your college experience, land an internship, and successfully secure your first job. An indispensable guide for college students, adapted from the world's most popular and bestselling career book, What Color Is Your Parachute? What Color Is Your Parachute? for College is the only guide you need for making the most of your college career from start to finish. Based on the bestselling job-hunting system in the world, created by Richard N. Bolles, it covers deciding on a major, designing a four-year plan with your interests and values in mind, creating impactful social media, developing a resume that stands out in a crowd, and making invaluable connections to the workplace. Filled with introspective activities designed to bring out your unique skills and knowledge for interviews, resumes, and cover letters, this book provides easy-to-follow templates, rubrics, and lists to help you create the best possible social media platform, including LinkedIn.You'll discover how to leverage your skills and experiences throughout college to start your future-whether that means landing a meaningful internship (and making the most of it!), finding your first job, continuing on to graduate school, or taking a gap year. Whatever your future plans, What Color Is Your Parachute? for College will get you there.
Call Number: General Collection HF5381 .B664 2021Publication Date: 2021
You Can Do Anything by
In a tech-dominated world, the most needed degrees are the most surprising: The liberal arts. For more than a decade, the national spotlight has focused on science and engineering as the only reliable choice for finding a successful post-grad career. Quietly, though, a different path to success has been taking shape. In You Can Do Anything, George Anders explains the remarkable power of a liberal arts education - and the ways it can open the door to thousands of cutting-edge jobs every week.
Call Number: General Collection HF5382.5.U5 A7185 2017Publication Date: 2017
Managing the Graduate School Experience: From Acceptance to Graduation and Beyond by
Knowledge is power. Simply stated, Managing the Graduate School Experience: From Acceptance to Graduation and Beyond provides graduate students with power as it helps them to understand and complete a graduate degree, regardless of how the degree is offered--online or on-campus. It also encourages them to take control of the graduate school process as much as possible and negotiate with faculty and the administration regarding all aspects of the program. Some additional key features of this book include: -Experienced faculty members who have served on more than 400 graduate committees, have chaired more than 100 doctoral dissertations and eighty master's theses, and have instructed thousands of learners on their journey to earning their degree -Reflections of more than fifty cumulative years of graduate school experience -A non-technical, no jargon, easy-to-read style. Succinct and to the point -A Student centered approach that has helped hundreds of graduate students complete graduate degrees
Call Number: General Collection LB2371 .R668 2015Publication Date: 2015
57 Ways to Screw up in Grad School by
Books abound on acing the admissions process, but there is little on what to do once the acceptance letter arrives. Veteran graduate directors Kevin D. Haggerty and Aaron Doyle have set out to demystify the world of advanced education. Taking a wry, frank approach, they explain the common mistakes that can trip up a new graduate student and lay out practical advice about how to avoid the pitfalls. Along the way they relate stories from their decades of mentorship and even share some slip-ups from their own grad experiences.
Call Number: General Collection LB2371 .H34 2015Publication Date: 2015
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences by
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences is tailored specifically to the needs of bioscience students, both at university, and beyond. Written in an engaging and supportive manner, with examples throughout that demonstrate the relevance of topics covered to bioscience degreeprogrammes, the book will assist you with the transition from school to university, with your studies at university, and with your progression to employment after leaving university.With a broad range of study and communication skills included, it is essential reading for any bioscience student who wants to get the most out of their degree.Online Resource CentreFor registered adopters of the book:DT Figures and tables of data from the book, ready to download.For students:DT Examples of good and bad practice when using PowerPoint presentations and when producing posters
Call Number: General Collection QH315 .J64 2014Publication Date: 2014
When: the Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing by
Daniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks the scientific secrets to good timing to help you flourish at work, at school, and at home. Pink reveals how best to live, work, and succeed.
Call Number: General Collection BF468 .P57 2018Publication Date: 2018
The Time Trap by
This guide provides the quick solutions you need be more effective with your time and avoid and escape the so-called "time savers" that don't really work. Backed by decades of research with businesspeople around the world, authors Pat Nickerson and Alec Mackenzie explain how to: Set realistic goals and make commitments they can keep; juggle multiple demands; estimate time needed on new tasks; pinpoint and combat the most tenacious time wasters; protect priorities; and upgrade personal productivity for professional success.
Call Number: General Collection HD69.T54 M33 2009Publication Date: 2009
The Power Presenter by
To succeed, leaders must deliver powerful presentations at every opportunity: speeches, fireside chats, briefings, pitches, virtual meetings, videoconferences, podcasts, and beyond. Whether you are in front of a live audience or a webcam, the way you present yourself verbally and non-verbally is crucial to your success. Top presentation coach Jerry Weissman gives you the same battle-tested techniques, styles, and strategies he has provided to senior executives at thousands of companies. His proven methodology has enabled presenters to attract investors, sell products, propose partnerships, and get high-stakes projects approved. You will follow a step-by-step plan to shape your content, control your nerves, master your body language, integrate your graphics with your delivery, and much more. The Power Presenter is packed with proven techniques, practical tools, and case studies of famous power presenters -- including many business leaders new to this edition. It will help you engage any audience from start to finish and deliver persuasive presentations when it counts most. Part of the Jerry Weissman Presentation Trilogy! Also look for updated Third Editions of: Presenting to Win: The Art of Telling Your Story and Designing Your Slides In the Line of Fire: How to Handle Tough Questions...When it Counts
Call Number: Bracken Library New Books PN4129.15 .W45 2021Publication Date: 2020
Ebooks
Real-World Time Management by
In this instructive guide to time management, author Michael Dobson provides tips, techniques, and commonsense advice that will give anyone better agency over his or her time and significantly increase productivity. You'll also learn how to handle distractions, stop procrastinating, delegate tasks, deal with meetings, and manage time effectively while traveling.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2008
Find Your Balance Point by
Accomplish what matters most Because we all have too much to do, it feels like our lives are out of balance. But Brian Tracy and Christina Stein argue that imbalance results not so much from doing too much but from doing too much of the wrong things. They provide a process that enables you to sort out what is most important to you from among the many activities you could focus on. When you can efficiently identify and accomplish what really matters to you, you've found your balance point.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2015
The Smart but Scattered Guide to Success by
Are you smart, scattered, and struggling? Today's 24/7 wired world and the growing demands of work and family may simply max out the part of the brain that manages complex tasks. That's especially true for those lacking strong executive skills - the core brain-based abilities needed to maintain focus, meet deadlines, and stay cool under pressure. In this guide, experts help you map your own executive skills profile and take steps to boost your organizational skills, time management, emotional control, and nine other essential capacities.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2016
Manage Your Stress for a Happier Life by
Free yourself from stress and learn how to regain calm and in control with this new and updated edition of a practical, popular and easy-to-follow guide.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2010
The Media and Communications Study Skills Student Guide by
This introduction covers a range of general and generic skills that the author relates specifically towards media and communications studies. As well as the mechanics of writing and presentations, the book also shows how students can work on and engage with the critical and contemplative elements of their degrees whilst retaining motivation and refining timekeeping skills.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2019
Grad School Essentials by
What's the hardest part of grad school? It's not simply that the workload is heavy and the demands are high. It's that too many students lack efficient methods to let them do their best. Professor Zachary Shore aims to change this. With humorous, lively prose, Professor Shore teaches you the five most crucial skills you need to succeed: how to read, write, speak, act, and research at a higher level.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2016
A Field Guide to Grad School by
An essential handbook to the unwritten and often unspoken knowledge and skills you need to succeed in grad school Some of the most important things you need to know in order to succeed in graduate school--like how to choose a good advisor, how to get funding for your work, and whether to celebrate or cry when a journal tells you to revise and resubmit an article--won't be covered in any class. They are part of a hidden curriculum that you are just expected to know or somehow learn on your own--or else. In this comprehensive survival guide for grad school, Jessica McCrory Calarco walks you through the secret knowledge and skills that are essential for navigating every critical stage of the postgraduate experience, from deciding whether to go to grad school in the first place to finishing your degree and landing a job. An invaluable resource for every prospective and current grad student in any discipline, A Field Guide to Grad School will save you grief--and help you thrive--in school and beyond. Provides invaluable advice about how to: Choose and apply to a graduate program Stay on track in your program Publish and promote your work Get the most out of conferences Navigate the job market Balance teaching, research, service, and life
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2020
Sort Your Brain Out by
The human brain is constantly rewiring its 160 billion cells, continually and imperceptibly changing the way we think. Because of that, we can fundamentally change the way our brains work - for the better. Sort Your Brain Out shows you how to re-wire your brain to be more creative, make better decisions, improve your mood and memory, manage stress, and stave off senility. The book explains how the brain works and what you can do to subtly alter your behaviours, beliefs, and motivations to create positive change in your life and health.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2014
DVDs
How to Become a Superstar Student by
Professor Michael Geisen, the 2008 National Teacher of the Year, has packed this course with advice, tips, tricks, and resources on everything from homework and class participation to giving group presentations and preparing for tests.
Call Number: DVD VIDEO 10345 (3 discs)Publication Date: 2011
Stress Management by
Provides instruction on how to identify the signs and causes of stress and gives techinques on controlling stress.
Call Number: DVD VIDEO 9488Publication Date: 2006
How to De-Junk Your Life by
Discusses techniques that can be used to eliminate piles of paperwork, reduce interruptions, and end searches for misplaced items. Also discusses how to stay organized at work and how to tactfully say "no" when your workload is full.
Call Number: DVD VIDEO 9493Publication Date: 2006
