Below are links to databases useful for researching the Beat Generation writers and literature broadly. If you're interested in a particular author, try searching using their name or the title of one of their works. If you are interested in this group of authors generally, try combining the terms "Beat Generation" or "Beats" with additional terms to express themes (e.g. "religion," "relationships," "travel," etc.) or forms of writing (e.g. "poetry," "novels," etc.) that interest you.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography is an electronic version the print index published by the Modern Language Association beginning in the 1920's. Subjects include literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Contains some full text articles.
Description:MLA International Bibliography is an electronic version the print index published by the Modern Language Association beginning in the 1920's. Subjects include literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Contains some full text articles. Time Period: 1926 to present Sources: Indexes nearly 5,000 journals and series. Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities, Mobile Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Journal Articles Information Included: Abstracts,Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes Print Equivalent:MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures Publisher: Modern Language Association Updates: Monthly Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowFull text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format.
Description:Project Muse is a full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from JSTOR, in PDF format. Time Period: 1993 to present Sources: Indexes more than 300 journals. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles Information Included: Journal Articles FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Literature Criticism OnlineThis link opens in a new windowLiterature Criticism Online provides access to scholarly and popular commentary from books and periodicals, broadsheets, pamphlets, and encyclopedias published in Gale literary criticism titles. Content is delivered in an online format that matches the print originals.
Description: Literature Criticism Online provides access to scholarly and popular commentary from books and periodicals, broadsheets, pamphlets, and encyclopedias published in Gale literary criticism titles. Content is delivered in an online format that matches the print originals. Time Period: 19th century to present Sources: Contains articles and reviews from more than 1,100 volumes of literary criticism. Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Magazine Articles, Reference Resources Information Included: Full Text, Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent:Contemporary Literary Criticism Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism Poetry Criticism Short Story Criticism Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism Publisher: Gale Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.
Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
Description:JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.
Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
Time Period: 19th century to present Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews Information Included: Full Text, Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: JSTOR Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited