Contact Us
The following websites are great resources to find media that may be in the public domain or shared under a Creative Commons license. This list is not exhaustive and there may be other excellent online resources that provide access to media available for use without permission from the copyright holder.
Images
CC search is a great way to find public domain and creative commons licensed content. This site is populated with image content from multiple institutions and clearly displays the license terms and creator name for each item.
Europeana contains collections of content from libraries, museums, and institutions in Europe. Not all content is in the public domain or available through a CC license, but a large number of items are available and search and browse filters allow you to find content available for re-use. Be sure to locate the rights information for each item to verify if and how it may be used.
Flickr Creative Commons Licensed Images
Flickr is an online image hosting community and contains sections of the site dedicated to CC licensed images. To find CC licensed images on Flickr go to https://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/ and click on the CC license type you want to search or browse under.
Flickr also has a section dubbed “The Commons” containing images that are in the public domain and free of copyright restrictions. Numerous government institutions and other public organizations from across the globe have contributed public domain content from their collections to The Commons. Visit https://www.flickr.com/commons to browse or search these images.
The Getty is now sharing many high-quality images in an open and unrestrictive manner. To locate this open content users can access the Getty Search Gateway and filter their results to open content by checking the “Open Content Images” box in the “Highlights” section within the toolbar on the left of the webpage. All of the images found through the Getty Open Content Program should be credited as “Digital image courtesy of the Getty’s Open Content Program.”. Attribution and use information can be located on the Open Content Program webpage.
Google images is probably the first place searched to find pictures. When using Google images to search for content it is necessary to assume that images are copyright protected unless specified otherwise. To use Google to search for images that are in the public domain or shared with a Creative Commons license, simply click on “Tools” under the search bar, open the drop-down list for “Usage Rights” and then select “Creative Commons Licenses”. The search results should now display content that is available under a CC license or in the public domain. Be sure to evaluate the specific license attached to an image to verify you are compliant with the license terms. Also, be sure to visit the webpage where the image lives and verify the copyright status on the image’s own website. It is possible that an image result in Google is tagged incorrectly and verifying copyright information on the site where the image originates is essential.
The Library of Congress website has a large collection of pictures, print, and film collections. Most of which are in the public domain, but not all, so be sure to check the “rights” section for each item to verify the content in question is free to use.
Magdeleine is a website containing free hi-resolution images. It features browsable categories and filter options allowing users to search within public domain and/or attribution required collections. Each image clearly displays if it is in the public domain or what license is attached and how it may be used.
In recent years the Metropolitan Museum of Art implemented a new open access policy. This policy makes image of artworks it believes to be in the public domain freely available for unrestricted use by sharing them with a CC-0 license These images are found in the MET Collection and by making sure the “Open Access” box is checked. Images that are free for reuse in this collection will also have an OA – Public Domain logo beneath the image.
This is a hi-resolution stock image website where all images are essentially in the public domain and shared using a CC-0 License where they can be re-used for personal or commercial projects. Images may be filtered by category and color. Related images shown on Negative Space may take users to the Shutterstock website (Shutterstock advertises on the site), so be sure to only download content available on the Negative Space platform.
The Pixabay website contains collections of photos, illustrations, vectors, videos, music, and sound effects all available to be re-used for commercial and non-commercial purposes. Attribution is also not required for Pixabay content and modifications may be made to items shared on the site. Content is available for use via a “Pixabay License” which only restricts users from selling the images, redistributing them on another stock image platform, portraying identifiable people in a bad light or using images with identifiable brands in a way that makes a misleading association with a product or service.
The Public Domain Review contains collections of images, films, audio files, and books which are in the public domain. The website is user friendly and allows users to browse by medium and filter collections by time period or “epochs” as well as by collection themes.
Public domain vectors is a large collection of vectors that are available in SVG, AI, and EPS formats. Like the name suggests, all the vectors/images available on this site are shared using a CC-0 license essentially placing them in the public domain. They can be copied, modified, or distributed, even for commercial purposes, without the need to ask for permission.
The Smithsonian Institution has placed a large number of their images in the public domain and share them via their website using a CC-0 license. Not all images shared by the Smithsonian have this designation, but a very large portion of them are available to use. Be sure to select the “Open Access Media (CC0)” box when searching and verify the image you want to use features the Creative Commons 0 image logo underneath it.
All images published on Unsplash are free to re-use for commercial and non-commercial purposes with no permission necessary. Content uploaded to the site is shared through an “Unsplash” license allowing their re-use.
Wikimedia Commons is a searchable website with access to images, sounds, and videos that have been uploaded by users, typically with the intent for use on Wikipedia. Most of the content on the site is available under a Creative Commons license and licensing information is provided at the bottom of each item’s individual webpage.
Audio
This site contains audio files licensed for use with various Creative Commons licenses. Each sound file specifies the licensing information and how it may be used.
Many of the songs found at Free Music Archive are shared using Creative Commons licenses. Verify the type of CC license is attached to the file you want to use to make sure you are compliant with the license terms.
Freesound is a website where users can upload sounds they have recorded or created and share them under a Creative Commons license. Be sure to verify what license is attached to each sound file to ensure you comply with the license terms. Many files may require attribution and some are not able to be used for commercial purposes.
Internet Archive Netlabels Collection
The Netlabels collection at the Internet Archive hosts complete, downloadable music files which are often CC licensed. Be sure to verify license terms in the “Usage” information shown on the music files webpage.
Video
National Screening Room - Library of Congress
The National Screening Room film collection is part of the Library of Congress. Most of the films in the collection are in the public domain, but not all, so be sure to check the “rights” section for each item to verify the content in question is free to use.
Pexels offers photo and video footage which are free to use, modify and edit as you like. Without the need for attribution. Much of the video footage does not exceed 30 seconds in length.
The Prelinger Archive is a section of the Internet Archive and contains videos which are part of the public domain and downloadable for use. Be sure to verify that individual films are in the public domain by looking at the “Usage” information in the section underneath the film description.
The Public Domain Review curates a collection of images, films, audio files, and books which are in the public domain. The website is user friendly and allows users to browse by medium and filter collections by time period or “epochs” as well as by collection themes.
Vidsplay is a platform providing free video stock footage. Content can be used for commercial or non-commercial purposes. It is necessary to credit Vidsplay, or provide attribution to Vidsplay, in the end credits of the film, on the website showing the film, or in the description of the video.
Seek Permission
If you are unable to find content that is in the public domain or made available for use with a CC license, you are always welcome to contact the copyright holder of media that does meet your needs and request permission from them to use their work. View our guide with information and links to resources for help in obtaining permission to use copyrighted resources.
Disclaimer
While the resources on this guide all aim to provide access to Creative Commons and public domain media, please note that we cannot guarantee that all of the resources found on these sites will not violate copyright. It is up to users to verify the copyright status and/or license information for whatever media found on the websites appearing in this guide.