Schedule a research consultation with the Architecture Librarian
- individualized help finding resources related to your topic
- meet with the librarian online
- contact Architecture Librarian Amy Trendler, aetrendler@bsu.edu, to set up a consultation
Searching Article Databases
To search for peer-reviewed articles:
- Start on the Ball State University Libraries Databases pages
- Explore databases by subjects such as Social Sciences, Health, Medicine, and Nursing or Architecture & Planning
- Look for "peer-reviewed" search filters in the databases
- While it doesn't have a peer-reviewed filter, most of the journals for articles included in the Web of Science are peer-reviewed.
This citation database covers the social sciences and arts and humanities as well as science.
It tracks the citations IN an article (articles and books referenced in the notes and bibliographies) and references TO the article (notes and bibliographies that reference the article).
- Consult other resources such as OneSearch (searches across select databases) or Google Scholar
Browsing the contents of peer-reviewed journals is another way of discovering articles and trends in the field. Most journals provide the titles of articles in the tables of contents for issues.
If the full text is not available via a library subscription or open access, use Ball State University Libraries interlibrary loan and document delivery services to request a copy of the article.
For example, browse issues of the Journal of Interior Design on the publisher website. Note that in this case the Ball State University Libraries has a subscription to the journal, so you may also access the full text of the articles in this journal.
Using Interlibrary Loan
For articles that are not available through a library subscription or open access, request a copy through Ball State University Libraries interlibrary loan and document delivery.
Look for the "request via interlibrary loan" link in an article database or in OneSearch (the library catalog + results from select article databases). For example:
You may also complete an "article request" form in the interlibrary loan system with information about the article.
